Need help with home audio options - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 04-21-2013, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I am relatively new at this and had moved into a new house last year which appears to have been wired, through wall, in various rooms but prior owner took everything except the wires and a Niles speaker selector box at closing. I just installed my 5.1 home theatre in the den, and this is what I have....

Den (main floor of house)- full home theatre setup, Yahmaha Rx-v671, 64" HDTV, bluray, all integrated via Control 4 home automation control and Control 4 iPod sound dock. Components are in larve wallto wall custom cabinitry under tv

Finished basement--4 speaker wires coming thru wall, one in each corner of basement. No speakers

Outdoor deck--wraps around 400 sq ft sunroom. There are 2 speaker mounts and wires and end corners of deck facing towards pool. Backyard is approx 1/2 acre. Will need good speakers/power out of the pair since it will provide sound to deck and the pool which is located 25' away from the speaker mounts. Do not plan to get an in ground subwoofer. There is a volume control knob mounted on deck.

Sunroom (main floor) --4 speaker wires coming thru wall, one in each corner of basement, and a subwoofer connection in floor. No speakers or subwoofer. Sunroom has a cabinet panel where it appears all speaker wires for basement, deck and sunroom connect and a Niles Hps4 sits in cabinet. Not sure what speaker wires connect with what in cabinet, will need to test.

Ok, not sure what are my best options here--the basement is really a non-issue for me now, and the outdoor deck speaker pair a priority with pool season coming. Do I need another receiver for the sunroom? Is Sonos an option even though I would like to run everything through Control 4? The outdoor speaker pair will need decent power and have heard sonos falls short in this area?