YPAO - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2013, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
clintsound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question:
What should the volume on my Yamaha be set on when setting up YPAO?
Thanks
clintsound is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2013, 06:51 AM
Member
 
nodnerb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It doesn't matter.
nodnerb is offline  
Old 04-22-2013, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
clintsound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks mate.
clintsound is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 09:15 AM
Member
 
dude74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so for YPAO I have "extra speaker assignment" set at none (choices are: zone 2, precence, and none), EQ Type set at front (choices are: flat, front, and natural). Is this correct? I'm only running 2.1 system right now. Want to make sure before I start the test.

Yamaha RX-V1065 receiver
Bowers & Wilkins 685 front speakers
SVS SB-1000 subwoofer
Marantz PMD350U CD/cassette player
Sony BDP-N460 Blu Ray player
Sony Bravia KDL-40V5100 flat screen TV
Wii game console
Roku 2XD internet streaming box
dude74 is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
clintsound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds right to me
clintsound is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Might try setting eq to flat.
crn3371 is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Ran YPAO but measurements (distance) aren't exactly accurate. Would getting a tape-measure out and manually applying the correct distances have that much of an effect on the sound or should I leave the YPAO Distances?
Justin Sullins is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 04:05 AM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

Ran YPAO but measurements (distance) aren't exactly accurate. Would getting a tape-measure out and manually applying the correct distances have that much of an effect on the sound or should I leave the YPAO Distances?

The distances set by YPAO are for room/delay correction so that all sounds arrive at the listening position at the same time.
They aren't meant to be the actual distances. The sub setting, in particular, will look "way off" but should be left alone
bradman is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post

The distances set by YPAO are for room/delay correction so that all sounds arrive at the listening position at the same time.
They aren't meant to be the actual distances. The sub setting, in particular, will look "way off" but should be left alone

Ok. I'll just leave it be. Thanks.
Justin Sullins is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post

The distances set by YPAO are for room/delay correction so that all sounds arrive at the listening position at the same time.
They aren't meant to be the actual distances. The sub setting, in particular, will look "way off" but should be left alone

I'm glad I read this post. I was getting a reported distance of 15 ft for my SW when the tape measured showed 9 ft. Could you comment on how accurate YPAO is at determining the SW crossover (mine gets set to 80Hz) and the whole PEQ equalizer thing?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The crossover setting will depend on your mains. My fronts are pretty good down to about 40hz, so I've found that a 60hz crossover setting sounds better to me.
crn3371 is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

my mains and surrounds are the same, they are what comes with the YHT-399U HTiB

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/hometheater-systems/home-theater-package/yht-399/?mode=model

NS-AP2600_manual.pdf 254k .pdf file

I had the same speakers, (NS-AP2600), but I somewhat upgraded to NS-C210 Center and NS-B210 Mains (Yamaha) and kept two of the NS-AP2600 Speakers for surrounds. YPAO set mine at 80Hz also as well as my new center and mains. I think they sound better at 80Hz, IMO.
Justin Sullins is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 47
With those speakers, I'd try something higher than 80hz and see how it sounds. I would think 100hz, or 120 hz would be more appropriate.
crn3371 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off