Will this setup work for vinyl? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 04-22-2013, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey! Newbie here!

I'm going to get my first turntable in a few weeks for my birthday. And since it's my first I've done a lot of research about everything and I'm here to ask if everything will work!

Right now, I'm leaning towards the Project Essential. So this is what I'm thinking my setup will be: Project Essential > Project Phono Box - RCA to TRS > Line In (TRS) to my Tascam US-144 MKII - RCA out > Speakers.

I'm thinking that'll work! But I'd really like to hear your opinion.

Also, could you recommend a receiver or integrated amp? Under £200 preferably! And some speakers, there are so many I wouldn't know which to get, but I'd rather put most of the money towards the speakers, again, under £200

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 04-23-2013, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Not the way you have it, no.

Not sure why you have the TASCAM 144 in the line there. It really should not be there.You show its output going to speakers. It has no output for speakers.

The Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 speakers might cost around 200 pounds; not sure; they are very good.

For an amplifier, you could probably go with one of the Cambridge integrated amplifiers; hard to know models or price in the UK.

In any case, the output of the Pro-ject Phono Box should go directly to input jacks on an integrated amplifier which will drive the speakers.

The output of the 144 can go to a different input of the integrated amplifier; that is a totally separate signal path.
post #3 of 5 Old 04-23-2013, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter

Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by commsysman View Post

Not the way you have it, no.

Not sure why you have the TASCAM 144 in the line there. It really should not be there.You show its output going to speakers. It has no output for speakers.