Best HDMI cable for new system??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-15-2013, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Brandtwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought an Onkyo TX-NR818 to go with my Samsung 55" TV HD w/ 240 hz resampling, AT&T wireless cable service & Samsung blueray DVD & Martin Logan speakers & sub. I hooked up my system last night without reading the manual & I noticed it says on screen 1080 @ 60 hz. Why is it only resampling @ 60hz? Do I need better HDMI cables? I need to buy another HDMI cable to hook up DVD player & need to know what is the BEST type of HDMI cable to buy? I will replace the ones I have now with the BEST HDMI if I need to. Thanks ...Bill
Brandtwi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-15-2013, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi Bill,

As long as it is specified for HDMI 1.4, then your HDMI cable is fine.

The 240 hz re-sampling that your Samsung is referring to means that the incoming 60Hz is being re-sampled internal to the TV, and the TV then refreshes the display at 240Hz. The "1080 @ 60 hz" that you see on screen is referencing the incoming signal, and 1080p at 60hz is as good as it gets.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-15-2013, 08:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

Hi Bill,

As long as it is specified for HDMI 1.4, then your HDMI cable is fine.

The 240 hz re-sampling that your Samsung is referring to means that the incoming 60Hz is being re-sampled internal to the TV, and the TV then refreshes the display at 240Hz. The "1080 @ 60 hz" that you see on screen is referencing the incoming signal, and 1080p at 60hz is as good as it gets.
+1

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-16-2013, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 124
There are only two basic types of HDMI cables - standard and high speed. High speed cables are recommended for 1080p video and 3D. Just make sure the cables you get are high speed and you'll be fine for every application.
BIslander is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-16-2013, 05:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

There are only two basic types of HDMI cables - standard and high speed. High speed cables are recommended for 1080p video and 3D. Just make sure the cables you get are high speed and you'll be fine for every application.
+1 And ARC. smile.gif

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-16-2013, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 124
ARC works on any HDMI cable (standard or high speed). Both devices need to support ARC. If they do, you can use any cable to connect them. If either device doesn't, no cable will help.
BIslander is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-16-2013, 06:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

ARC works on any HDMI cable (standard or high speed). Both devices need to support ARC. If they do, you can use any cable to connect them. If either device doesn't, the cable won't help.
OK. I thought only high speed cables supported ARC.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-16-2013, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nethawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Most folks go with the high speed HDMI cables from monoprice. This is all I've ever used and never had a problem. One word of advice - they're heavy. I also purchase these port savers for each end, depending upon the hardware I'm plugging into. If these don't appeal to you there are others, just search for them on monoprice.

Nethawk is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-16-2013, 12:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 838
The Redmere cables at Monoprice (and other places) are much lighter and work great.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off