SPDIF out Audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-22-2013, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jeff1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I.m trying to use the SPDIF output in my Xonner DG audio card in my computer to a 5.1 decoder to drive my surround sound in another room. This works with the SPDIF output from my TV to the decoder but when I try from the sound card I only get the front right and left channel. Expecting to much of the sound card? Would like to use the sound cards mixer, its not available through the HDMI sound.

Jeff
jeff1001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-22-2013, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Sounds like something is not set properly in the sound card's driver or control panel.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-23-2013, 05:17 AM
Senior Member
 
bizwiz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1001 View Post

I.m trying to use the SPDIF output in my Xonner DG audio card in my computer to a 5.1 decoder to drive my surround sound in another room. This works with the SPDIF output from my TV to the decoder but when I try from the sound card I only get the front right and left channel. Expecting to much of the sound card? Would like to use the sound cards mixer, its not available through the HDMI sound.

Jeff

Are you sure the source is 5.1? I agree that this sounds like a setting for your sound card. I have had to go into the device's menu and set it to a 5.1 system in the past. Most default to a stereo speaker set up.

Sometimes I have to remind myself that I bought all this "stuff" to enjoy it!
bizwiz41 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-23-2013, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jeff1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizwiz41 View Post

Are you sure the source is 5.1? I agree that this sounds like a setting for your sound card. I have had to go into the device's menu and set it to a 5.1 system in the past. Most default to a stereo speaker set up.
Yes the sound source is windows media player that's output from a HD 6670 Radian graphics card. HDMI to my flat screen output toslink to a Dolby digital decoder and 5.1 to my surround sound wired. I want to use toslink from the Xonar sound card because it seems to be the only way to enable the mixer on the sound card. When I select the HDMI sound, the sound cards controls become "unavailable" in the sound dialog box."Stereo Mix" When I'm watching a program the voice isn't loud and I want to boost the middle frequency.
jeff1001 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-24-2013, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jeff1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, still don't know why I can't control the sound in the HDMI connector but the motherboard has a SPDIF out that works great. Thanks for your replies.

Jeff
jeff1001 is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off