How many necessary pieces of equipment we need in an hi - end system? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 141 Old 06-01-2013, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I am a rookie to this field, I first set up my system with a multi- channels AVR and now Im moving to 2 channels system for hi - end music but I have encountered some completely strange equipment: Pre - Amplifier, Power - amplifier ( is this the normal one we use ? ), Digital to Analog converter

If there is something more which i dont know yet, please list them with short definition. I really appreciate your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 141 Old 06-01-2013, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 82
Hi Liam,

My personal opinion: If you already have a decent AVR, then all you need are good speakers. Unless your speakers and room are working really well, nothing else will make much of a difference. Even then, you won't get as much bang for the buck.

Avoid boutique audio gear, as the main difference between that and mainstream gear is the price. And sometimes also the styling. You can get some awfully nice-looking gear for enough money, but they typically won't sound any better. Speakers are the exception.
post #3 of 141 Old 06-01-2013, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter

Thank you, MarkHotchkiss

At this time, I dont have any intention to move up in to those splendid " unknown machines ". My aim opening this thread is just to enrich my knowledge. It's a little bit uncomfortable to see some nice gears around without knowing what they are used for. Anyway, thanks again for your advice
post #4 of 141 Old 06-01-2013, 10:51 PM

Liked: 12
+1 with Marks opinion.
post #5 of 141 Old 06-02-2013, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liamnguyen View Post

It's a little bit uncomfortable to see some nice gears around without knowing what they are used for.