RCA Audio Input Not Making Good Contact - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-03-2013, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Spirrwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if I should've posted somewhere else, but this is the best forum I could find for it. Basically I have an old Sony HD CRT TV that has HDMI, but my video card doesn't have HDMI so I'm using a HDMI to DVI adapter, hence I can't use it for sound. Luckily right next to it is the standard RCA cable ports for sound input. However, it doesn't work. I tested it with the other inputs and it appears to be working with them. I also tested it with a multimeter. I get 0 ohms from it, however if I push in on it a little bit, I do get some. Is there any way to deal with this\fix it without tearing the whole TV apart?
Spirrwell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-09-2013, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
has7738's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North America
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It may not actually be broken. Some TVs are set up so that if using an HDMI input it must get sound via HDMI only. You'll have to check your manual to see if your Sony is set up that way or not.
has7738 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-09-2013, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 45
If your TV has HDMI you should/may get sound. Audio is contained in the video blanking area between frames (not a separate stream). DVI carries audio since it carries video. It's just not part of the spec (ignores it) because it was designed as a digital version of the old analog VGA (PC) replacement. DVI even has a legacy VGA analog support (called DVI-A). Not sure how your HTPC handles video/audio encoding.
William is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-09-2013, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 262
You probably have cheap RCA cables that are not making a good connection.

This is fairly common.

Also, the old connectors may have badly oxidized contacts.

Squeezing the outer part of the RCA plug ground contacts with pliers can tighten it up.

Also, re-inserting the plug over and over and rotating the plug slightly in the jack can help to improve the connection.
commsysman is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off