How to get surround sound from pc>hdmi>receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-03-2013, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
csice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only get sound from the front left and right speakers. I have 64 bit Windows 7 and Realtek HD audio with updated drivers. I run the hdmi through the video card(AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series) to my receiver. When I go into the configuration for Realtek and test the speakers individually, they all work. My Receiver always says decoder off. What can I do to get surround coming from my pc? It seems like a lot of people have problems with this and answers likewise seem difficult to come by. Thank you.
csice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-03-2013, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 144
What source material are you playing?
kiwi2 is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-04-2013, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 64
You shouldnt be using the Realtek HD audio, that is for the on-board audio of the motherboard. You need to use the AMD HDMI audio, make sure the drivers are loaded for that, and it is selected as your default audio device.
jdcrox is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-04-2013, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
csice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I technically have to just to hear any audio. Well I just changed a setting, so let me get a 5.1 source to see if it changed. By the way, I'm assuming youtube is not a 5.1 source even if it is a 5.1 audio test video?
csice is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-04-2013, 05:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
csice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seem like I do get surround. My receiver says PCM. However, it seems like all sounds come through every speaker though. Any further ideas?
csice is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-05-2013, 03:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
csice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have one more question. I was wanting to play Gone Home, which I don't believe has 5.1, so what is the way to simulate 5.1?
csice is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-05-2013, 06:00 AM
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,530
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
Quote:
Originally Posted by csice View Post

I do have one more question. I was wanting to play Gone Home, which I don't believe has 5.1, so what is the way to simulate 5.1?

Try Dolby Pro Logic if you have a component that supports it.
arnyk is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off