I am looking for a headset/lapel mic for "webinar" video speaking. Low profile, tan, xlr/usb... not sure how or what to do. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 09-04-2013, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am needing to d a video webinar to speak at a conference. So I am trying to find some sort of low profile lapel or headset mic. Since I'll be projected huge on a screen, I want something that is a little more subtle than a Logitech gaming headset.

I've been looking around Amazon and I see a few cheap ones, and a few expensive Shure ones, but they are all either 1/8in jacks or XLR. I have no experience with using those with a USB adapter, or if it is even possible. I see that there are XLR to USB adapters, but I have no idea if the mics I am looking at need power or anything. I also wanted to try and get some sort of in-ear monitor with it, but again, I don't have experience with what that takes or if it will work with just an iMac. The Logitech headset is USB, but way to large. If I get a low profile mic, and then a low profile in ear monitor, I don't have any idea what to hook them to, a 2 channel XLR box? And then that plugs into USB or the mic/headphone port on the computer?

This is a lot harder to find than I thought it would be. Seems like lots of people would do video speaking and need a low profile mic setup. Is there anyone here with experience that could maybe point me in a direction so this isn't a terrible experience for the audience? They are 9000 miles away =D
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-05-2013, 01:12 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 28