Solder inquiry - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 09-27-2013, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Even though this is DIY, I thought it would be more applicable in this forum, as in theory et al...

Hello All, I have a set of over-the- ear earphones that I have been using daily for about three years. It is the JVC HA-RX300, and I got it cheap.

A few weeks ago, the wires became loose at the jack end and the signal became inconsistent.

Now, since they were cheap, and the fact that I am comfortable wearing them for 5+ hrs a day, I decided to try to fix them instead of just buying a new set of cans.

I went to Radio Shak and got a 1/8”(3.5mm) TRS Jack. I wanted a solderless one, and the rep gave me a screw on jack. Unfortunately, the wires still need to soldered and I do not own a soldering iron. So, as a temporary solution, I rigged up the headphones wires by wrapping them around the connectors and using electrical tape to hold in place.

This worked temporarily, however, if I move the wire too much some of the signal drops out. So I borrowed a soldering Iron form a co-worker, and plan on soldering the wires this weekend.

I have read up on soldering and think this is a good starting point; however, I have some questions.

I know that I need to clean the tip, and ‘tin’ it. I understand the basics of soldering circuit boards. However, how do I solder the copper headphone wires to the silver (steel,nickel?) TRS jack? The three headphone wires are the basic red, green, copper(-,+,ground).

1)Do I need to remove the colouring on the wires(if I burn them the colour comes off and the ends fray)

2)Do I need to tin the wire tips?

3)How do I get the most secure connection to the TRS Jack? Wrap the wire around, tie a knot with the wire through the hole, etc…?