Polk soundbar and PS3 setup help needed - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2013, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
napsacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a Polk Surroundbar 5000 and I'm having some issues that I'm hoping someone can assist with. My setup is simple; PS3 is hooked up to TV with HDMI and TV is hooked up to soundbar with digital optical cable. When watching TV the soundbar works perfectly and it also works perfectly when playing a bluray disc. However, I get no sound when using the PS3 for anything other than playing a bluray disc. I'm assuming I must have a setting configured wrong in the PS3 or possibly on my TV, but I've spent multiple hours trying to figure it out to no avail.

Any insight is greatly appreciated!

Thanks - Napsacker
napsacker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2013, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4712 Post(s)
Liked: 3349
Quote:
Originally Posted by napsacker View Post

I just purchased a Polk Surroundbar 5000 and I'm having some issues that I'm hoping someone can assist with. My setup is simple; PS3 is hooked up to TV with HDMI and TV is hooked up to soundbar with digital optical cable. When watching TV the soundbar works perfectly and it also works perfectly when playing a bluray disc. However, I get no sound when using the PS3 for anything other than playing a bluray disc. I'm assuming I must have a setting configured wrong in the PS3 or possibly on my TV, but I've spent multiple hours trying to figure it out to no avail.

Any insight is greatly appreciated!

Thanks - Napsacker

List what "anything other" includes.
Alan P is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
napsacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Other" would be PS3 games, Netflix, Amazon Prime and it doesn't even make the normal 'tick" sound when you toggle from one app to another.

Thanks!
napsacker is offline  
 
Old 11-11-2013, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 9,398
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4712 Post(s)
Liked: 3349
I'm guessing that your TV will not output dolby digital over optical. Try setting your PS3 to output stereo only and see what happens.
Alan P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Polk Audio Surroundbar 5000 Iht Virtual Surround Speaker Bar With Wireless Subwoofer
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off