Live Audio Recording Input Only Produces Static - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-15-2013, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ptto911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I went to film a musical today with the Broadcasting team at my school, and I got the audio feed from the mixing board via XLR. So I plugged the XLR into my audio interface to record it to my PC and all that came out was static. Once I got everything plugged in, the show already started, so I couldn't troubleshoot much with the sound engineer. It could not have been a computer or software issue either, since I was monitoring the audio interface's audio directly from the interface with headphones.

I searched online everywhere, but I couldn't really figure out why the whole signal was just static. If I turned phantom power off for the input, it was static. If I turned it on, it was a distorted clipping sound. But no actual sound that should have been recorded was being picked up.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
ptto911 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 02:54 AM
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,530
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptto911 View Post

Hello,
I went to film a musical today with the Broadcasting team at my school, and I got the audio feed from the mixing board via XLR. So I plugged the XLR into my audio interface to record it to my PC and all that came out was static. Once I got everything plugged in, the show already started, so I couldn't troubleshoot much with the sound engineer. It could not have been a computer or software issue either, since I was monitoring the audio interface's audio directly from the interface with headphones.

I searched online everywhere, but I couldn't really figure out why the whole signal was just static. If I turned phantom power off for the input, it was static. If I turned it on, it was a distorted clipping sound. But no actual sound that should have been recorded was being picked up.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Most engineers who provide a feed for visiting recordists, provide a line-level feed. Sounds like you were using the mic input of your audio interface, which can be way to sensitive and could easily be distorted.
arnyk is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ptto911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

Most engineers who provide a feed for visiting recordists, provide a line-level feed. Sounds like you were using the mic input of your audio interface, which can be way to sensitive and could easily be distorted.
I can see how that could be true, however, my audio interface has a knob to adjust input sensitivity, and even with it nearly all the way down, it produced the same static sound. I am using the Roland Cakewalk UA-25EX interface, by the way.
ptto911 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Hi Ptto,
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptto911 View Post

. . . and I got the audio feed from the mixing board via XLR.
Just a thought:

Did he give you a single XLR cable? Could it have been an AES/EBU digital-stereo signal instead of a balanced mono-analog signal?
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ptto911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

Hi Ptto,
Just a thought:

Did he give you a single XLR cable? Could it have been an AES/EBU digital-stereo signal instead of a balanced mono-analog signal?
Yes, it was one single XLR cable. He told me the signal would be in mono, and I had my interface set accordingly.
ptto911 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gizmologist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
If it was a broadcast style mix desk the feed you got was likely a very high level signal along the lines of +4 db or higher and you system was just way over driven.
Gizmologist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off