Do I really have to cross my cables at 90 degrees? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 41 Old 01-01-2014, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Happy New Year, everyone! This is my first post.

You know the drill. We all have gone through the same experience, re-installing our equipment for one reason or another. Always, that was the easy part (specially with the help of a friend who plays football). Running the wires was the real challenge, trying to separate them as much as possible. We all shared this frustration. As a hobbyist, I knew the need for keeping wires away from each other. As an architect, I understood the science and have attempted to do do something about it. Attached PDF is something I wish to share with you, explaining what I have gone through in that attempt.

ElectromagnetisminWires.doc 2991k .doc file

Cheers!
Ponchit
Attached Files
File Type: doc ElectromagnetisminWires.doc (2.92 MB, 76 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 Old 01-01-2014, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Oh wow, another audiophile solution to a non problem.
post #3 of 41 Old 01-01-2014, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 82
Hi Ponchit,

First, let me say that I found your paper to be clear and technically correct. Second, let me expand on A9X-308's response (If he doesn't mind).

One thing that your paper seems to overlook is that we almost never run a single wire. If we are running those 20 amps through a wire to a speaker, then there is almost always a companion wire running back from the speaker. The current in the second wire is equal, but of opposite polarity, to the first wire, and therefore they cancel each other's electro-magnetic field.