Critique first-time build for small, commercial area - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 01-02-2014, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello, all:

I have some limited experience with automotive and home-theater setups, but this one is new. I have a budget around $2000 for the whole thing, and am looking for a speaker/amp/sub setup that will offer good sound and decent bump for an 1200 sq ft bar. (10800 cu ft). Although, the setup is for a bar, the speakers will rarely be used for the typical, heavy-bass that you would expect. I would say it's going to be more country and vocal-oriented music. Anyways, I haven't come up with the subwoofer yet, as that will probably put me over budget, but I want to get the speakers/receiver ironed out.

What I have so far are:

Front: Klipsch F-30 (150/600w)

Rear: Klipsch S-10 (50/200w)

Center: Polk 25C (20-175W)

Receiver: Onkyo TX-NR717 or TX-NR718 (depends on recommendations)

Subwoofer: Probably dual 15's; yet to be decided because of budget

A little more info: the receiver needs to have dual zone support and internet radio/Pandora/etc. access. There's a potential that a second zone will be set up to give stereo sound to a small diner that is attached to the bar. Again, I know I am pretty limited by the budget, but commercial setups are out of the question, and I think the small size of the atmosphere and desire for clarity of sound will lend itself to this type of setup.

This might be a horrible first start, but it's what I have come up with this far. Thanks for any hints/insight!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 01-02-2014, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 38
I would forget trying to get surround effect since most people will not be in a position to get the effect and there is no "focal point" as with a home theater.