Newbie Optical Audio Connector Question. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-07-2014, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pdxlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Folks:

 

   This should be the dumbest question anybody asks in 2014. 

 

   I just purchased my first HDTV, a ZT60. 

 

   This is also my first experience with optical audio. 

 

   The optical audio connector seems to be covered with a plastic cap.  I've picked at it with my fingernails, but I'm reluctant to pry it off with a screwdriver, as I see that some of these connectors are covered by caps, and others apparently have "Doors" that open to access the connection when a cable end is pressed against them. 

 

   Do I understand this correctly? 

 

   What kind of cap is on the ZT60? 

 

   What do I do to connect the cable? 

 

      Thanks

      Larry

pdxlarry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-07-2014, 07:23 PM
Member
 
roadking00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No cap at all on my VT, just plug in the opt connector right in....
roadking00 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-08-2014, 06:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxlarry View Post

Hi Folks:

   This should be the dumbest question anybody asks in 2014. 

   I just purchased my first HDTV, a ZT60. 

   This is also my first experience with optical audio. 

   The optical audio connector seems to be covered with a plastic cap.  I've picked at it with my fingernails, but I'm reluctant to pry it off with a screwdriver, as I see that some of these connectors are covered by caps, and others apparently have "Doors" that open to access the connection when a cable end is pressed against them. 

   Do I understand this correctly? 

   What kind of cap is on the ZT60? 

   What do I do to connect the cable? 


This picture shows a Toslink port with the typical cap that has finger grips:



I've also seen caps that lack the finger grips and are just flat across. I pry them off with a small screwdriver tip.

This picture shows a Toslink port ready to receive a cable:



the Toslink port marked "Optical" has a little red light shining in it because it is an output port and the piece of equipment is turned on. If its an input port there is no light.

Output ports are basically LEDs, and input ports are phototransistors or high speed solid state light sensors. An ordinary LED can be used to drive a toslink input in a pinch.
arnyk is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-08-2014, 11:35 AM
Member
 
FreakinSyco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ToslinkCable-15FT.gif

I've had cables with little rubber tips that needed to be removed before use. Both with the strap as pictures above and without. Google optical cable tips and make sure yours looks like the average one.

Edit: this is how most of my cable ends look. There are some other variations that use a large round clear plastic tip as well.

cable3.jpg

And on reading the first post better: the poster above has the correct answer.
FreakinSyco is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-08-2014, 02:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,653
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreakinSyco View Post

And on reading the first post better: the poster above has the correct answer.
Yeah... best to read the previous (or initial) posts. tongue.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-10-2014, 03:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pdxlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks Everybody:

 

   It's working. 

 

   The question was related to the connector on the TV. 

 

   The dealership where I purchased the TV had a floor model 65" ZT60, mine is a 60".  The optical port on this item had no cover.  A dim red light was visible when I looked into it. 

 

   I gently pressed the tip of a small screwdriver against the cap that covered the opening for the optical cable.  I was expecting to feel a soft plastic plug that I would pop out. 

 

   Instead, the cap flipped back into the hole, spring loaded and hinged on the bottom. 

 

   The optical cable slipped in. 

 

   So the optical socket for this TV has a tiny door. 

 

   I appreciate everybody's effort to help me. 

 

      Thanks

      Larry

pdxlarry is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-13-2014, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
scorrpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
AFAIK, the 'dustplug' design of the optical jack is an older type. Almost all opticals you will find on recent equipment have the 'tiny door' design where the cable just pops in, no need to remove anything. Also, optical input is usually black, while output is usually gray.
scorrpio is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-13-2014, 10:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,653
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorrpio View Post

Almost all opticals you will find on recent equipment have the 'tiny door' design where the cable just pops in, no need to remove anything.
LOL! He resolved the issue 3 days ago. Where were you 5 days ago? biggrin.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-13-2014, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
scorrpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, I know he did, so what? I just commented on the 'door vs dustplug' port design.
scorrpio is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-13-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,653
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Oh okay. Missed the smiley face I guess? If not, so what? biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

OTOH.... some devices use plugs, some use doors. Thanks for the additional info.
Ratman is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-13-2014, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pdxlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Yea, it's been a couple of days, but I appreciate the response.

pdxlarry is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off