Stuck without sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-04-2014, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sirazpatel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. It's 5 am and I'm losing sleep lol. Any advice would be super.

The problem
I have just purchased an epson emp tw520 projector.
I have only one hdmi port which my ps3 is connected to.
I Want 5.1 surround sound and I'm looking to purchase a sound bar Yamaha 101
However the projector has no optical cable port ...
Only one hdmi which is in use ...
How can I possibly enjoy movies with full surround sound on this projector ??
Any advice or solutions would be appreciated ...
Is the green 'y' next to cb/pb cr/pr for the audio cable ?? I'm sure if I connect the soundbar through that I won't get full 5.1. Surround.
Please help me to get surround sound
sirazpatel1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 03:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirazpatel1 View Post

Hey guys. It's 5 am and I'm losing sleep lol. Any advice would be super.

The problem
I have just purchased an epson emp tw520 projector.
I have only one hdmi port which my ps3 is connected to.
I Want 5.1 surround sound and I'm looking to purchase a sound bar Yamaha 101
However the projector has no optical cable port ...
Only one hdmi which is in use ...
How can I possibly enjoy movies with full surround sound on this projector ??
Any advice or solutions would be appreciated ...
Is the green 'y' next to cb/pb cr/pr for the audio cable ?? I'm sure if I connect the soundbar through that I won't get full 5.1. Surround.
Please help me to get surround sound

There are such things as HDMI audio extractors with optical outputs

http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium-Audio-Extractor-Converter/dp/B00AHS8LD8/ref=sr_1_1



and also HDMI splitters.

http://www.amazon.com/J-Tech-Digital-Registered-Trademark-Capability/dp/B008D66RAU/ref=sr_1_1

sirazpatel1 likes this.
arnyk is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sirazpatel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, if I use a splitter coming out of the projector going into ps3 and the soundbar wil it work at the same time ?? I was under the impression splitters are to split outgoing sources not bring 2 sources into one.. If that makes sense
sirazpatel1 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 04:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirazpatel1 View Post

Thanks, if I use a splitter coming out of the projector going into ps3 and the soundbar wil it work at the same time ?? I was under the impression splitters are to split outgoing sources not bring 2 sources into one.. If that makes sense

Oh. my bad. Then you need a HDMI switch:

http://www.amazon.com/Kinivo-301BN-Premium-wireless-adapter/dp/B0049S6ZUS/ref=sr_1_3

arnyk is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sirazpatel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lol I don't need that too! I've solved it. All I need to do is connect the soundbar to the ps3 via optical. Simples
sirazpatel1 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 06:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirazpatel1 View Post

Lol I don't need that too! I've solved it. All I need to do is connect the soundbar to the ps3 via optical. Simples

It might be a good fix, or not so much in the long run. There are audio formats that run over HDMI, but not coax or optical. When you have the problem, you'll know it!
arnyk is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sirazpatel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But the soundbar has no hdmi port.. It only had the optical... It is the Yamaha 101. They advertised it as 5.1 and yes 7.1 lol
How could I possibly get this through an optical cable alone ?? Apart from telling me they lied to me can you enlighten me with some more of your wisdom please. Thanks in advance 😊
sirazpatel1 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-06-2014, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_Palmer_Cass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirazpatel1 View Post

But the soundbar has no hdmi port.. It only had the optical... It is the Yamaha 101. They advertised it as 5.1 and yes 7.1 lol
How could I possibly get this through an optical cable alone ?? Apart from telling me they lied to me can you enlighten me with some more of your wisdom please. Thanks in advance 😊



Don't worry about it. That soundbar will decode standard multi channel DD and DTS material via optical just fine.

Just remember that the soundbar will play a virtual (AKA fake) 5.1 or 7.1 type of sound. There are only two main channel speakers in that unit plus the subwoofer.


http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/digital-sound-projector/yas-101/
sirazpatel1 likes this.
J_Palmer_Cass is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-06-2014, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sirazpatel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any ideas on how to set my ps3 settings ?? Audio through bitstream or PCM ??
sirazpatel1 is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off