Choosing and positioning surround speakers for an asymmetrical space? Help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 03-31-2014, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, all...first post, and I'm a noob regarding home theater audio, but doing my best to drink from the firehose of information I've been exposing myself to the last few days.

I'm turning a large-ish (is 24 x 20' medium? large?) basement main area into a semi-dedicated front-projection theater space for which it is almost very well suited.

The screen will not be centered on the end wall, but instead centered between a side wall and a doorway, meaning that the seating will not be centered side to side in the space.

Further complicating things is that the closer side wall (to the left of the audience) is a blank canvas, but the farther side wall is interrupted by three doorways and a staircase.

I'd like to accomplish a 7.1 system in this space, but will certainly settle for 5.1 if it simply makes more sense given speaker mounting or acoustic limitations.

My wife is very accommodating regarding speaker placement and mounting, but would like to avoid walking down the stairs and immediately seeing a speaker hanging there.  I tend to agree with her, and the plan should clarify what I mean.

I'm not sure where to locate my speakers, particularly with regard to the sides and maybe rears.  Monopoles firing straight forward from the distant rear walls?  Bipoles mounted on the distant rear wall?  Something mounted closer to the audience, angled down from the 9' ceiling?  Will one side wall being 50" farther away make a mess of the acoustics?

No audio equipment has yet been purchased, so any and all advice is appreciated, including thoughts on amplifiers that might help me compensate for any compromises.  Thanks so much!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 03-31-2014, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)