Toslink to Cable and Back? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2014, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Valley Village, Ca
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Toslink to Cable and Back?

I'm running component w/digital audio to my bedroom tv. Dont need best sound, just want decent sound and the 5.1 audio coming though, because the Samsung movie sound from the TV is nice.

Here is what I am doing and have yet to setup. Bought component switch and niles baluns with digital cable for my 50ft cat5 run. The sat receiver and TV have toslink out and inputs.

I already have one digital to toslink converter from before.

Is there an easier way to do this other than converting toslink to cable and back again on the ends?

Can I use RF cable with RCA F connector for digital audio cable?

Kinergetics KCD40 and KCD 20/40
Robertson 6010 & 4010
Chiro C800
Kinergetics Subwoofer
Martin Logan Aerius I
Sony SMP-N100 Network Media Player w/iSedora
nickm11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2014, 01:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 16,940
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1035 Post(s)
Liked: 812
Yes?
Ratman is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,941
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
Yes?
+1.

Note new forum software bug. Have to have a minimum of three characters. So no more simple "+1"
Glimmie is offline  
Old 06-14-2014, 02:30 AM
Member
 
Roseval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Monoprice has 50 ft Toslink.
At $9 I would try it
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
Roseval is offline  
Old 06-14-2014, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Valley Village, Ca
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roseval View Post
Monoprice has 50 ft Toslink.
At $9 I would try it
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
Great idea, but it's another cable to run. I need to use the component switch to work with other equipment in my bedroom. My apartment already has to many cables.

Will toslink travel well that far?

Is there a 50ft toslink on one side and digital coax on the other?

Kinergetics KCD40 and KCD 20/40
Robertson 6010 & 4010
Chiro C800
Kinergetics Subwoofer
Martin Logan Aerius I
Sony SMP-N100 Network Media Player w/iSedora

Last edited by nickm11; 06-14-2014 at 08:55 AM.
nickm11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off