DTS Coax to 3.5mm?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-23-2014, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question DTS Coax to 3.5mm??

Hi AVS forums.

I have been searching all over the place for an answer and no one seems to know if there is such a thing.....

Basically I have a Sony Blu-Ray (BDP-S1100) player which has a DTS/PCM/Dolby coaxial output for sound (phono). (there are no other outputs).

I have a Logitec 5 speaker and sub system which I have used in the past and wanting to see if it will work ok with the Sony.
The speaker system operates off a 3 way 3.5mm as an input.

Is there such a cable that is DTS/Dolby coaxial (preferably male) to 3 way 3.5 mm jack (preferably female).

As far as I can tell there isn't such a thing but just wanted a definitive answer ???

Oh and I am from the UK if that is relevant?!
Jon Faulkner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-23-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Are your speakers passive or active with a S/PDIF input?

EDIT: Just a quick look on the logitech site and they are mostly PC type speakers systems. Which are active with analog inputs. If so then the answer is NO.

You need 3 things go from a DTS/DD stream to audio at the loudspeaker and you (may) only have 1.

1) DTS/DD decoder
2) D/A converter
3) Amp (which may be built into your speakers)

Last edited by William; 06-23-2014 at 10:28 AM.
William is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-23-2014, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
scorrpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If this is a high end system like Z5500, it should have coax digital input. But most normal 5.1 PC systems will have three 3.5mm inputs: green for fronts, black for rears, orange for sub and center. Is your system like that? Or you have just one 3.5mm input?

If you have 3 inputs, this is what you need:http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F9HS7MW/..._hojQtb1GWTV1K
scorrpio is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-23-2014, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorrpio View Post
If this is a high end system like Z5500, it should have coax digital input. But most normal 5.1 PC systems will have three 3.5mm inputs: green for fronts, black for rears, orange for sub and center. Is your system like that? Or you have just one 3.5mm input?

If you have 3 inputs, this is what you need:http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F9HS7MW/..._hojQtb1GWTV1K
Scorrpio, that is exactly what I need, yes it has 3 3.5mm inputs!
That will do the job perfectly - thank you!!

Also thank you William for your comments, appreciate it.

Last edited by Jon Faulkner; 06-23-2014 at 03:58 PM. Reason: Spelling error!
Jon Faulkner is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off