help wiring 4 pairs of speakers to onkyo tx8050. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
help wiring 4 pairs of speakers to onkyo tx8050.

need wiring diagram for 4 pairs of speakers 3 pairs 8 ohm. and outdoor pair is 4 ohm. proficient audio.
all wiring is ran from amp (4 wire) to in wall impedance matching volume controls. these controls have dipswitch setting for ohm matching. just need help wiring them. cant wrap head around. do not want to hurt amp.

thanks for all the help..
shlitz501 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|----- Amp

Set options in the controls for 4 pairs of speakers.

See your Controls install manual.

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest
RayDunzl is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayDunzl View Post
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|----- Amp

Set options in the controls for 4 pairs of speakers.

See your Controls install manual.
ok. so just how i have it wired just set switches properly for ohm value? in volume controls?

thats what is flustering me. can you please expand? lay it right out for me. thanks man.

because i have the 8ohm and 4 ohm its confusing the **** out of me. it shouldnt but is.

i dont want to blow anything up. thats all
shlitz501 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 387
What is the make/model of the volume controls.

Somebody needs to read the instructions.

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest
RayDunzl is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 10:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayDunzl View Post
What is the make/model of the volume controls.

Somebody needs to read the instructions.
trying to send you manual. but it is a vc60i. proficient audio. cannot send i dunno how. lol sorry. i think the pdf is protected
shlitz501 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shlitz501 View Post
trying to send you manual. but it is a vc60i. proficient audio. cannot send i dunno how. lol sorry. i think the pdf is protected
http://www.manualslib.com/manual/579...0.html?page=19
shlitz501 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 10:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ijust want to make sure what they saying is correct. thats all .


i really donu understand the manual. its very bland. let me know if you can help .

thanks again cheers.
shlitz501 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 387
"need wiring diagram for 4 pairs of speakers 3 pairs 8 ohm. and outdoor pair is 4 ohm. "



There it is. I used red so it wouldn't look so bland.

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest
RayDunzl is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayDunzl View Post
"need wiring diagram for 4 pairs of speakers 3 pairs 8 ohm. and outdoor pair is 4 ohm. "



There it is. I used red so it wouldn't look so bland.
ok sweet . thanks.. but my onkyo amp is 8ohm. at 2 channel. is this still correct setting for the load?

so you say 1 speaker at 4 ohm is that for 1 out of 2 channels? and 3 at 8ohm for 1 out of 2 channels the other half of channel is the other pair of speakers respectively? hope that makes sense. fack. feel like a dumbass. i guess thats why you are all here. and i apologize for being a crabby mofo weeks back. i think i called you some names. sorry again.
shlitz501 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 11:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 387
"but my onkyo amp"

What Onkyo amp?

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest
RayDunzl is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayDunzl View Post
"but my onkyo amp"

What Onkyo amp?
tx8050. sorry i am a newbie. onkyo tx8050 amp. will this speaker load comply with this amp? with the settings on the iw-vc's?

thanks again.
shlitz501 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shlitz501 View Post
tx8050. sorry i am a newbie. onkyo tx8050 amp. will this speaker load comply with this amp? with the settings on the iw-vc's?

thanks again.
it has a bridged mode. which is 4 ohms 160w they call it dynamic power. just need to know schematics based on what you previously showed me. thanks.
shlitz501 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Oh, sorry, Tx-8050 was in your title...

Ok, set the switches to in all the controls to C. That will give a little more "protection" to the amplifier. D setting would give the most protection.

Monitor the temperature of the amplifier, give it good ventilation, don't run it real hard, you should be fine.

If you play with it you will probably find the volume at the speakers is lowest at D setting, a little louder at C, louder at B...

Louder = more power drawn from the amp, and that amp isn't a real powerhouse.

It does show a 160w@4ohm dynamic rating - http://www.onkyousa.com/Products/mod...class=Receiver

--

It also, in the specs, shows "4 ohm capable"

Use C setting, if that works ok, you're done.
If not loud enough, B setting.

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest

Last edited by RayDunzl; 07-20-2014 at 11:34 PM.
RayDunzl is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 11:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayDunzl View Post
Oh, sorry, Tx-8050 was in your title...

Ok, set the switches to in all the controls to C. That will give a little more "protection" to the amplifier. D setting would give the most protection.

Monitor the temperature of the amplifier, give it good ventilation, don't run it real hard, you should be fine.

If you play with it you will probably find the volume at the speakers is lowest at D setting, a little louder at C, louder at B...

Louder = more power drawn from the amp, and that amp isn't a real powerhouse.

It does show a 160w@4ohm dynamic rating - http://www.onkyousa.com/Products/mod...class=Receiver

--

It also, in the specs, shows "4 ohm capable"

Use C setting, if that works ok, you're done.
If not loud enough, B setting.
great help. thanks again. appreciate it. i know its not a powerhouse. but no zone will ever be turned to max or all at same time. just want to protect the potential. so i did ok then right? need some encouragement!!! lmfao.. this **** is new to me.. been messing with stereos whole life. have a brand new set of jbl monitors complete with powered subs in basement but the home amp/receiver is different how they are hooked up. and much less protected. thanks again Raydunzl
shlitz501 is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 11:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
still not exactly sure as to your picture how to hook up speaker cables to amp. i have 3 sets of 8ohm and 1 set of 4ohm. ? let me know if you pic is right or is backwards? thanks. and does that pic reflect 1 actual speaker or a pair? thanks man.
shlitz501 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 387
If you have the distribution panel as shown in the controls manual, use that.

Otherwise, just connect two speakers to the A outputs and two to the B outputs.

They go to the same place inside the amplifier.

Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|----- Amp B Output

Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|----- Amp A Output


---The switch inside the controls makes the speakers look like higher impedance speakers---

http://filedepot.onkyousa.com/Files/...0_En_web_A.pdf

Page 10 -

The receiver allows you to connect two sets of speakers.
When two sets of speakers are connected, you can select
which speaker set outputs sound or use both sets to
output sound simultaneously. ( page 19 about
“Speakers A” and “Speakers B”)

• When you connect one set of speakers to either
SPEAKERS A or SPEAKERS B terminal posts, or
when you connect two sets of speakers to both speaker
terminal posts and output sound only from either
speaker set, use speakers whose impedance is 4 to
16 Ω, and set the speaker impedance setting on the
receiver to 4 or 6 Ω ( page 12). When the impedance
of the speaker to be used is less than 6 Ω, set the
speaker impedance to 4 Ω.

• When you connect speakers to both SPEAKERS A
and SPEAKERS B terminal posts and output sound
from both speaker sets simultaneously, use speakers
whose impedance is 8 to 16 Ω. Set the speaker
impedance setting on the receiver to 4 Ω.

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest

Last edited by RayDunzl; 07-20-2014 at 11:53 PM.
RayDunzl is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 07-21-2014, 12:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayDunzl View Post
If you have the distribution panel as shown in the controls manual, use that.

Otherwise, just connect two speakers to the A outputs and two to the B outputs.

They go to the same place inside the amplifier.

Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|----- Amp B Output

Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|
Speakers ---------> Control ----------------|----- Amp A Output


---The switch inside the controls makes the speakers look like higher impedance speakers---

http://filedepot.onkyousa.com/Files/...0_En_web_A.pdf

Page 10 -

The receiver allows you to connect two sets of speakers.
When two sets of speakers are connected, you can select
which speaker set outputs sound or use both sets to
output sound simultaneously. ( page 19 about
“Speakers A” and “Speakers B”)

• When you connect one set of speakers to either
SPEAKERS A or SPEAKERS B terminal posts, or
when you connect two sets of speakers to both speaker
terminal posts and output sound only from either
speaker set, use speakers whose impedance is 4 to
16 Ω, and set the speaker impedance setting on the
receiver to 4 or 6 Ω ( page 12). When the impedance
of the speaker to be used is less than 6 Ω, set the
speaker impedance to 4 Ω.

• When you connect speakers to both SPEAKERS A
and SPEAKERS B terminal posts and output sound
from both speaker sets simultaneously, use speakers
whose impedance is 8 to 16 Ω. Set the speaker
impedance setting on the receiver to 4 Ω.
holy ****. thanks man. not totally understanding as it is 330 in am here and i had a wicked sunday funday. but thanks.. i look at tomorrow and if i have any questions i check back.

cheers man.
shlitz501 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 08-05-2014, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hi ray. u there?
shlitz501 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 08-06-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by shlitz501 View Post
ok sweet . thanks.. but my onkyo amp is 8ohm. at 2 channel. is this still correct setting for the load?



so you say 1 speaker at 4 ohm is that for 1 out of 2 channels? and 3 at 8ohm for 1 out of 2 channels the other half of channel is the other pair of speakers respectively? hope that makes sense. fack. feel like a dumbass. i guess thats why you are all here. and i apologize for being a crabby mofo weeks back. i think i called you some names. sorry again.
I suspect that one thing that could be messing our minds is the fact that the picture above has a mystery component in it labelled "Passive Non Impedance Matching 1 in 4 out speaker terminal"

It is also known as a SS4P and is further described in this manual:

http://www.cabutoma.com.tw/PDF/others/SS8P_SS4P.pdf


The box below that is another mystery component labelled "M40" but could be taken to be the appropriate speaker terminals of your AVR.
arnyk is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 08-14-2014, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post
I suspect that one thing that could be messing our minds is the fact that the picture above has a mystery component in it labelled "Passive Non Impedance Matching 1 in 4 out speaker terminal"

It is also known as a SS4P and is further described in this manual:

http://www.cabutoma.com.tw/PDF/others/SS8P_SS4P.pdf


The box below that is another mystery component labelled "M40" but could be taken to be the appropriate speaker terminals of your AVR.
Vc60I. Still going into protection.
shlitz501 is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 08-14-2014, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Are you having a technical difficulty?

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest
RayDunzl is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 09-26-2014, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shlitz501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
All set now. Added crown amp with a speaker selector impedance matching. What a joke. Now I know what real power is. Complete with a velodyne minivee 8". Pounds. Thanks for all
The help. I guess I know what to do next time. Lol. Everyone's different in how they want to control the tunes. And dollars is always a factor
shlitz501 is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

Tags
2 channel , impedance , speaker match , volume , wire new build ceiling

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off