Connecting Laptop through AV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-30-2014, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Connecting Laptop through AV?

Good Evening Gentlemen,

I was trying to connect my laptop to my AV (Sony STR DN 1050) & am only able to get the video to display. The owners manual is essentially useless but from what I understand I need to connect a separate connection for audio. Ordered an optical cable & single RCA last night while getting the ground loop isolator to stop the hum that comes from the new sub.The only outputs on the AV aside from sub are zone 2, monitor, & a coaxial for the BD that is assignable.
Is there anything else I need?
Prior to the home theater system I plugged the HDMI into the laptop & TV to access all the movies I have saved. It seems with the WiFi that the AV has that I should be able to access the library though have been unsuccessful. Have tried a USB into the AV (only will play music, & in the TV the sound only comes the TV.
Have a PS3 I don't use that I heard I could use as media server, yet have a feeling I may get the same result.
Just seems like there is a simple way of using the laptop or accessing the library and being able to hear it from the surrond speakers without additional cables. Is there a way? If not will the optical cable resolve this?
Been a bit frustrating not being able to watch any movies that are not on cable, would really appreciate any advice
TomFord is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-30-2014, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 43
HDMI should send the sound and video to the AVR and speakers and tv.
SMHarman is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-30-2014, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RayDunzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 532
You need to select the sound output at the PC if you haven't.


Control Panel -> Sound -> Playback Tab

Select the device you want to output audio and click "Set Default"

You may find device selection inside your playback applications, too.

I'll be back later...


1.5RQ > digits > OpenDRC-DI > DEQ2496 > DAC2 > KCT > FPB 350mcx > reQuest > Sweetspot
RayDunzl is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-30-2014, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'll try that when we get home. Thanks guys
TomFord is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off