Onkyo TX-SR607 not picking up DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By rjgrobinson
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-10-2014, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Onkyo TX-SR607 not picking up DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD

I picked up a used (but in excellent condition) Onkyo TX-SR607 receiver recently, and just set it up today. I'm running a Samsung BD-F5700 blu-ray player to the receiver via HDMI cable, then another HDMI cable from the receiver out to the tv (Samsung F5300 plasma).

I've been through the Onkyo's manual, set all the inputs, the default listening modes, etc. I've also read the other posts on here about this same issue, but didn't seem to find any real answer to the problem.

When I play a blu-ray with DTS-HD sound, the receiver never seems to select it. I can scroll through the many different listening modes, but never have the option to select DTS-HD. In the settings menu for the receiver, I even have DTS as the default listening mode for the DVD/BD input, yet it's never an option when I actually play the blu-ray. The only mode for surround that it seems to register, and appears on the screen of the receiver, is DVD Dolby Pro Logic IIx. I'm sure this isn't as good as DTS-HD, or even Dolby TrueHD.

The old Onkyo I had would simply select the best sound format from the disc.

Not sure how to get the TX-SR607 to pick up on the format the disc is in, but hoping there's a way.

Thanks for any help!
rjgrobinson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 05:09 AM
Member
 
EyeInSky1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the same exact receiver, and I DO get Dolby TrueHD and DTS MasterAudio.

The receiver does have a series of weird setup options you need to go through. Check input selection. You can also toggle between different sound options on the receiver. When you see "DVD Dolby Pro Logic IIx", try to toggle the receiver to Theater or Direct.

I'm not at a position where I can tell you exactly which buttons to press, but I can tell you the TX-SR607 plays uncompressed audio beautifully :-)
EyeInSky1970 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by EyeInSky1970 View Post
I have the same exact receiver, and I DO get Dolby TrueHD and DTS MasterAudio.

The receiver does have a series of weird setup options you need to go through. Check input selection. You can also toggle between different sound options on the receiver. When you see "DVD Dolby Pro Logic IIx", try to toggle the receiver to Theater or Direct.

I'm not at a position where I can tell you exactly which buttons to press, but I can tell you the TX-SR607 plays uncompressed audio beautifully :-)
Thanks for the reply.

When you say try to toggle it to theater or direct, when I see the DVD Dolby Pro Logic IIx, do you mean just pushing the tv/movie sound button on the remote? When I do that, it takes me through a bunch of different listening modes (mono, 5 ch stereo, Neo 6, etc.), but DTS Master Audio or Dolby TrueHD never displays.

In the input selection screen, I can set DTS Master or Dolby TrueHD as default sounds settings for those specific types, but can't get it to actually play those formats.

Does the display actually say DTS or Dolby TrueHD when you are watching a blu-ray, for example?

Also, were there some specific things you had to change to get those sound formats to work? I've read about changing PCM stuff to pass through, etc.

I have no experience with this kind of stuff, and am hesitant to pay for professional setup incase they too can't figure it out, and it's just a loss of money spent.

Thanks again!
rjgrobinson is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 07:41 AM
Member
 
EyeInSky1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjgrobinson View Post
Thanks for the reply.

When you say try to toggle it to theater or direct, when I see the DVD Dolby Pro Logic IIx, do you mean just pushing the tv/movie sound button on the remote? When I do that, it takes me through a bunch of different listening modes (mono, 5 ch stereo, Neo 6, etc.), but DTS Master Audio or Dolby TrueHD never displays.

In the input selection screen, I can set DTS Master or Dolby TrueHD as default sounds settings for those specific types, but can't get it to actually play those formats.

Does the display actually say DTS or Dolby TrueHD when you are watching a blu-ray, for example?

Also, were there some specific things you had to change to get those sound formats to work? I've read about changing PCM stuff to pass through, etc.

I have no experience with this kind of stuff, and am hesitant to pay for professional setup incase they too can't figure it out, and it's just a loss of money spent.

Thanks again!
I do have the same receiver, and it DOES display "DTS Master Audio" and "Dolby True HD" on the window :-)

I will try to investigate how I connected this way when I get home from work tonight. But trust me... it does not only convert these audio formats, but it also displays them on the LED window. There is definitely a sound difference with the uncompressed audio tracks. There is more "oomph", dynamic range, and the sound just "pops" more. It's a subtle difference, but I can imagine you have good nuanced hearing and would appreciate the improved quality. Some people can't even tell the difference (lol - as I scratch my head wondering if there is something wrong with their hearing).
EyeInSky1970 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by EyeInSky1970 View Post
I do have the same receiver, and it DOES display "DTS Master Audio" and "Dolby True HD" on the window :-)

I will try to investigate how I connected this way when I get home from work tonight. But trust me... it does not only convert these audio formats, but it also displays them on the LED window. There is definitely a sound difference with the uncompressed audio tracks. There is more "oomph", dynamic range, and the sound just "pops" more. It's a subtle difference, but I can imagine you have good nuanced hearing and would appreciate the improved quality. Some people can't even tell the difference (lol - as I scratch my head wondering if there is something wrong with their hearing).
That's awesome, thanks so much... it gives me hope not to ditch the receiver for something else!

Although I have only a medium level speaker setup (older PSB speakers, and Nuance sub), they still sound great and definitely want to have the best sound format possible as sound is even more important to me than picture!

I picked up a cheap, bottom level blu-ray player (Samsung BD-F5700), so I'm wondering if maybe it's unable to pass through the proper formats to the receiver. Although I probably doubt that's the issue since I would think even a $100 blu-ray player in today's world should be able to do such a thing.

Thanks again for your help... it's very much appreciated!
rjgrobinson is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have the exact same receiver, and all I can get it to play BluRays in is PCM Multi-Channel, which after doing some research, is the uncompressed, 7 channel audio and is the best option, and the reason it automatically selects that when watching BluRay through HDMI cables.
Somebody correct me if that information is wrong, but all the info I could find says PCM is the desirable format.

If I play a DVD or watch TV, I can choose DTS or DD...
pcfriedrich is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 08:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I struggled with it forever... "I want to watch it in DTS, what's this PCM crap?!?" Then I looked it up...

Maybe you could set up your bluray player to send only the compressed, DTS or Dolby tracks to your receiver, but I think you would prefer the PCM.

http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=41263

Last edited by pcfriedrich; 08-11-2014 at 09:10 AM.
pcfriedrich is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Very interesting. Thanks for the link to the other forum topic.
rjgrobinson is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-11-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,693
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Normally, the player configuration determines whether the output is PCM or the encoded track.
BIslander is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-12-2014, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks for the help everyone. As was suggested, I just had to change the blu-ray player to output bitstream. All works great now.
pcfriedrich likes this.
rjgrobinson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off