AVS Forum banner

Recommendation on 3.1 receiver + speaker setup under $1k

2K views 25 replies 5 participants last post by  gajCA 
#1 ·
I'm a newbie on this forum as I have just started researching for audio setup in my new home. I'd like to start slow initially with 3.1 setup and expand later. My primary use would be to listen to music. I need something that will do justice to low frequency notes which I have seen being referred to being warm on many forums. I have seen good reviews on Marantz and Denon for receivers. Can anyone recommend a good receiver brand /model?

What brand speakers would match these receivers? I understand that if I choose an amazing receiver, I'd need equally good speakers. I have heard a lot of Klipsch and Polk. Anyone recommend good value for money speakers?

#2 ·
There are a ton of options out there for your requested price range. If music is important to you, I would recommend Marantz for the receiver. Maybe this one Marantz NR1504

A great 2.1 setup with outstanding low end would be SVS. Prime Satellite 2.1 In the future, you could always upgrade and use the satellites for surrounds.

One other option would be the Marantz and a pair of Definitive Tech speakers: Def Tech BP-8040ST The updated model is available so, these are on sale.

Hope this was helpful. I am sure other will chime in soon.

#3 · (Edited)
What brand speakers would match these receivers? I understand that if I choose an amazing receiver, I'd need equally good speakers.