Replacement Speaker Wires for Spherex - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 07-31-2006, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, so I'm a novice when it comes to these sorts of things, and I was hoping that somebody may have done what I'm trying to do, or may be able to steer me in the right direction.

I own a Spherex Xbox 5.1 Surround Sound System, and I recently moved to a new apartment where the TV and couch placement are such that one of the rear speakers does not reach the subwoofer. Since the rear cables are 23 feet long and 22 gauge, I decided to replace them with a 30 ft cable at 16 gauge (which I derived form this website: http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm#wiretable after reading the the Spherex speakers are 6 ohms).

Now, the Spherex system is such that the speakers and subwoofer both have RCA plugs, and the wires have RCA connectors on both ends. Finding a 16-gauge wire of that type was difficult, so I decided to try making my own with 16-gauge wire and solderless RCA connectors which I picked up from Radio Shack. Unfortunately, the hole on the solderless connector is too small to fit the thick 16-gauge wire through. Was I foolish to expect solderless RCA connectors to work with 16-gauge wire? Is there another solution for me now that I already bought a 100 ft spool of 16-gauge wire? Will this post be made sticky to serve as an example of the dumbest thing ever attempted on the history of these boards?

Thanks for reading.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2006, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member

I had plans for doing the same type of cable upgrade and I don't think you'll be able to take that easy of a route (ie. compression RCA plugs.) I made an even more expensive boo-boo and bought some Eichmann RCA plugs @ $40 for 4!! These were made for interconnects and couldn't accept bigger than 24 gauge wire.
Well, you've got the wire, just buy these: