No subwoofer output - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 12-16-2006, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've finally got my new system setup. I've got a Yamaha HTR-5930 and a set of Polk RM6750 speakers.

My old system used speaker cable to go from the receiver to the subwoofer. The new system uses RCA cables.

The back of the subwoofer has a left and right low level input jack. Interesting thing is, the Yamaha receiver only has *1* subwoofer output RCA jack, not 2.

I've got a 35' 2 headed RCA cables. Both ends are hooked up on the subwoofer. I'm tried connecting either one up on the receiver, and I cannot get a test tone out of the subwoofer.

The subwoofer has moaned and hissed ever since it's been turned on, but I probably just need to move it, it might be too close to some electrical cord or something.

The Yamaha manual just suggests checking the speaker setup and the cable connections if you don't get sound out of the subwoofer. Any suggestions?
sdrone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 12-16-2006, 06:32 PM
Member
 
catacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My receiver (Pioneer VSX-516K) has a mono sub out and the sub amp has stereo inputs. I have a mono cable going to a 1 female to 2 male adpater, and it works fine. Using just one channel of the stereo cable should work. Make sure you have the subwoofer enabled on the receiver.
catacon is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-16-2006, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, no joy. I'll pick up a Y cable tomorrow, though I don't think that's it. This one has me stuck.
sdrone is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 12-16-2006, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 5,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
How do you have the speaker system configured in the receiver menu?
If the main speaker setting is to 'small' the sub should be automatically set to on. But if you have the main L/R set to 'large' the sub setting might be off.
Also is the sub set to normal or LFE? If to LFE then only when the LFE channel is active in the soundtrack will there be sound.
4DHD is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 12-17-2006, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried...

1. Setting all 3 front speakers to Large, subwoofer on
2. Setting all 5 speakers to small, subwoofer on

In both cases, I verified that the subwoofer was on.

I can adjust the LFE and "volume" level for the sub on the receiver. I've got the output level all the way up.

I didn't see an ability to set the subwoofer output to normal or LFE - I'll check that.
sdrone is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 12-17-2006, 09:11 AM
KMO
Advanced Member
 
KMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are you sure you're connected to the right connector on the receiver? Check you're on the subwoofer pre-out, not the subwoofer multi-channel input.
KMO is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 12-17-2006, 10:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 251
... to clarify, you want to use the subwoofer or LFE "out" from the receiver to go to the sub.
Make sure that gets connected to the sub's "input".
Ratman is online now  
post #8 of 17 Old 12-17-2006, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heh. Yes. The single subwoofer output on the receiver is connected to the "low level input left/right" on the subwoofer. I've got a Y cable in place now and trying some stuff.
sdrone is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 12-17-2006, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm gonna end up calling both Yamaha and Polk. It's unbelievable how much static and hissing this subwoofer does while just sitting there.
sdrone is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 02-15-2007, 04:47 PM
Newbie
 
doc_co's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, according to Polk Audio, they suggested you run L/R to the sub, then from sub to your L/R front speakers. You have to set the L/R to "Large" in your receiver though. If you go to Polk Audio website, they have a page where they explain the reason why you should connect it that way instead of using the LFE output of the receiver.
doc_co is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 03-17-2013, 03:12 PM
 
palmharbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is amazing to me is how poorly and incomplete owners manuals are written no matter what price
you paid for the receiver, preamp etc....they act as if nothing is going to go wrong and you will never have any
problems....I would sometimes like to wring then neck of these guys and the manager who approved it for
publishing it without reading it.
This stuff has become too damn complicated and its why few people are buying the stuff in 2013
palmharbor is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 03-17-2013, 03:21 PM
 
palmharbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Polk is made in the Peoples Republic of Vietnam and Yamaha made in the People's Republic of China.
C H E A P....crap with no quality control...
palmharbor is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 03-18-2013, 04:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 251
And.... you had to reawaken a 5 year old thread for that opinion? rolleyes.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #14 of 17 Old 03-18-2013, 06:19 PM
 
palmharbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why not...is it not true today?
palmharbor is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 03-18-2013, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmharbor View Post

Why not...is it not true today?

Was this your in depth review...




kiwi2 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 03-19-2013, 11:07 AM
 
palmharbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GET a life.
palmharbor is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 03-19-2013, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
This stuff has become too damn complicated

No, users have become "too damn simple" .
SAM64 is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off