Optical-In To 6 Plug RCA? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 01-14-2007, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

Very much a newbie in the forum so take it easy on me!

Have a home cinema audio related problem.. and i'm a bit of a novice when it comes to this stuff.

Am after getting a new surround sound system and would like to hook it up to my XBOX - so i've to buy one of these fancy advanced scart-cables with an optical cable to output the sound from the XBOX.

But my realised my surround system does not have an optical in... it simply has two sections - 'Audio In' and 'Audio Out'. Both with 6 inputs for RCA Plugs (Front Left, Front Right, Rear Left, Rear Right, Center and Woofer). I realise 'Audio Out' is for the actual speakers which means i need six connections for the 'Audio In'.

Bit of a longshot but any way around this? Is there any plug capable of converting the optical-in into a 6 plug RCA type system? I think a decoder would do it also but they're not exactly cheap so a cheaper alternative would be preferable.

My girlfriend bought me the surround sound system for me and she's very proud of it and i'd hate to tell her there's not much i can do with it so even analog sound coming outta the system would do, though digital would be preferable.

Many thanks in advance all!

Regards,

Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 01-14-2007, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Perhaps if you provided the make/model# of the surround sound system, someone can provide a solution/recommendation.
post #3 of 8 Old 01-14-2007, 01:16 PM
ekb
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11