"Coax Audio" - Please help with cords!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-19-2007, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
tmh
Member
 
tmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm re-setting up my 5.1 system and have a couple questions. I want to make sure I'm getting 5.1 from my DVD player, of course and there are 3 options 1. Optical Cable, 2. Digital Coax cable and 3. Analog L,R,C,S1,S2 Sub. Here's my question - what exactly IS a digital Coax cable? Are the regular old audio cables (L and R) usable for this - just use one of the colors in the coax out)? I just bought a two subwoofer cables so i have an extra one (RCA jack I guess it's called) is this digital coax?

I have misplaced/lost the optical cable I was using which has created the need for me to use another method for now.
tmh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-19-2007, 01:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Although any RCA audio cable will work, it's best to use a 75 Ohm cable (such as a "yellow" composite video cable) for digital coax interconnects.
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-19-2007, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
RaptorX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmh View Post

I'm re-setting up my 5.1 system and have a couple questions. I want to make sure I'm getting 5.1 from my DVD player, of course and there are 3 options 1. Optical Cable, 2. Digital Coax cable and 3. Analog L,R,C,S1,S2 Sub. Here's my question - what exactly IS a digital Coax cable? Are the regular old audio cables (L and R) usable for this - just use one of the colors in the coax out)? I just bought a two subwoofer cables so i have an extra one (RCA jack I guess it's called) is this digital coax?

I have misplaced/lost the optical cable I was using which has created the need for me to use another method for now.

A coax cable has significantly more shielding that your typical L/R audio cable and I''m not sure the yellow video cable is up to the job. If you want to be sure, make sure the cable is marked 'Coaxial' or 'Coax'. You should notice that its appreciably thicker and less flexible than your typical RCA cable.

However, any RCA cable will work. You just run the risk of picking up noise and having reduced bandwidth.

The more I know, the more I realize I don't know.
RaptorX is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-19-2007, 01:47 PM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


what exactly IS a digital Coax cable?

It's a marketing term for overpriced, 75 Ohm coax cable.

Quote:


any RCA cable will work. You just run the risk of picking up noise and having reduced bandwidth.

Not true.
Targus is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-20-2007, 05:50 AM - Thread Starter
tmh
Member
 
tmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not true.[/quote]

Please expound on this. Why??? What does work???
tmh is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-20-2007, 06:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Any 75 Ohm cable with RCA plugs at each end (such as a yellow composite video cable).

Heck, even an RG6 coax cable with F to RCA adapters will work!
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search
Ratman is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-20-2007, 07:33 AM
Member
 
tht1guyinwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the perfect cable for you. Good quality and great price.

Its a Monster Cable Interlink 100. For 8.97

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search
tht1guyinwi is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-20-2007, 07:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Or.... at this price, you could try both!
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search
Ratman is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-20-2007, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I use this Radio Shack cable pair connected end-to-end (48 ft) with a RCA coupler to go from my PC sound card to my pre/pro. It works fine; no dropouts, no clicks, no buzzing, no static, just music...

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-20-2007, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Probably a piece of speaker wire would work (for a short run).
And NO, I'm not saying that's what you should use.

Kevin
Speedskater is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-20-2007, 10:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Speaker wire? No... one should NOT use that and IMO no reason to even suggest that solution.
Ratman is online now  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off