Back before I knew of the AVS forum, made many mistakes (Bose) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dragoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rouses Point, NY/St.Paul, Quebec
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back before I knew there was such a forum as this, I purchased the Bose Lifestyle 35 system . Now that I'm aware how much I paid for the name, what would you do? I have the following:

Samsung HLS-6187W DLP
Hughes HR10-250 Direc** HD Tivo Receiver (HDMI to TV, Optical to Bose via a Monoprice splitter)
XBox360 with the HD-DVD Add-On (VGA to TV, Optical to Bose via a Monoprice splitter)
Bose Lifestyle 35 HTIB

My biggest problem - I really do like the 5 Jewel speakers & the subwoofer. The speakers are already mounted on the walls, wiring has been run for them, etc. My question is, would you guys simply switch out the receiver - one capable of HDMI (which is what I really want!!)?? I know I could easily sell the Media Center alone on ebay to pay for the new receiver, but what would you guys do?? Thanks for any help!
dragoor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure, but I know some Bose models can be swapped and others are specifically desinged to use only the dedicated Bose "receiver".

Do your speakers connect to the receiver with real speaker wire, or is it that propriatary Bose stuff with the one PIN RCA Connectors?
davdev is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dragoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rouses Point, NY/St.Paul, Quebec
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is the one PIN RCA Connectors
dragoor is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 09:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Given that the speaker system is the main reason people hate Bose, why the concern? You like them after all.

Keep the system until it breaks, or you really need to upgrade. For example, adding a Blu-ray or HD DVD player and wanting lossless audio over HDMI.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dragoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rouses Point, NY/St.Paul, Quebec
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My biggest problem is the inputs. No HDMI isn't that big a deal right now but only 1 input for optical is killing me. My Toslink splitter from Monoprice is nice when it works, but every now and then on startup the signal is lost, and I have to shut everything off and power back on again.
dragoor is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 09:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Ratman is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoor View Post

It is the one PIN RCA Connectors


Then you are going to hope to find an adaptor that can connect to a real receiver
davdev is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 02-13-2007, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dragoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rouses Point, NY/St.Paul, Quebec
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, after thinking about this a bit, the 5 jewel cube speakers plug into the Acoustimass module (Subwoofer), then there is a cable that goes from the Acoustimass to the Media Center (Receiver). It looks similar to an S-Video cable. Does anyone know if there is an adapter for that??
dragoor is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dragoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rouses Point, NY/St.Paul, Quebec
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Up for more help
dragoor is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoor View Post

Up for more help


I think you are going to have to get in contact with Bose and see if they have an adaptor.

These stupid propriatary connections are just one of the many reasons most people here hate Bose. They make it very difficult to expand or upgrade your system with having to go through them
davdev is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 06:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Okay....
Maybe something like this?
http://www.4electronicwarehouse.com/...ter-black.html

More stuff:

http://www.4electronicwarehouse.com/c/boselink


maybe if you give these guys a call, they may be able to provide a solution/recommendation for you.
Ratman is online now  
post #12 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 06:34 AM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think one option is to swap your Acoutimass module which connects to the LS system with I believe their AM 5 or 15 module. You will be able to use the same speakers - which are on your wall, but the Acoustimass will connect to a non Bose receiver.

You can order that module from Bose. If you can, go into a Bose store and see which is the model that can connect to a receiver other than Bose. Perhaps it is available on ebay....
plazman is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dragoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rouses Point, NY/St.Paul, Quebec
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you everyone for all the help!! Well I just got off the phone with Bose Tech Support, and as plazman said, the ONLY option if I want to keep the 5 speakers is to switch the Acoustimass(subwoofer) module. That really sucks, but it is the ONLY option. I guess I'll have to think this one out for a while !! Thanks Bose !!!!!!!!!!!
dragoor is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoor View Post

Thank you everyone for all the help!! Well I just got off the phone with Bose Tech Support, and as plazman said, the ONLY option if I want to keep the 5 speakers is to switch the Acoustimass(subwoofer) module. That really sucks, but it is the ONLY option. I guess I'll have to think this one out for a while !! Thanks Bose !!!!!!!!!!!


Don't waste your money buying a new bass module. Pack everything up and sell it and get some new gear. it is the perfect excuse to do so.

And the one Great thing about Bose is they really hold their retail value, especially with the morons on Craigslist.
davdev is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dragoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rouses Point, NY/St.Paul, Quebec
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your absolutely right davdev - this is the perfect excuse to start fresh!!!!! I just need to talk the wife into it !!Couldn't agree more though, I don't need any more proprietary crap holding me back !!
dragoor is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 02-14-2007, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dknightd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoor View Post

Your absolutely right davdev - this is the perfect excuse to start fresh!!!!! I just need to talk the wife into it !!Couldn't agree more though, I don't need any more proprietary crap holding me back !!

Wise decision if you want to keep things up to date, but not do it the bose way.

Bose systems are great if you want decent results and have money to burn. Doing it the standard way makes you think a little more, but it can give better results for less money, and, allows for incremental upgrades.

Everything I say here is my opinion. It is not my employers opinion, it is not my wife's opinion, it is not my neighbors opinion, it is My Opinion.
dknightd is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off