Need help with 5.1 setup - Cannot balance Sub/LFE - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 05-21-2007, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,
First and foremost it should be known that while I like to consider myself capable enough around electronics, by and large the entirety of the population of AVS makes me look like a complete noob, and rightfully so... problems like this prove it is true.

My Problem:
I've had a rather mediocre set of 5 speakers for some time, not the best range, clarity, or anything, but I don't expect the best from them, so it works out well.

I recently upgraded from an Onkyo reciever that maxed out at Dolby PLII (with no digital capabilities, rather old model) to a Yamaha HTR-5860. Oh and by recently I mean like last July

A couple months later (we'd be around September '06 now), I picked up a Klipsch Sub-10 as I finally owned my own house and had the opportunity to enjoy a subwoofer for the first time in my setup without driving the neighbors crazy.

The first thing I noticed was how overpowering the bass seemed to be. I'd play with the LFE levels in the receiver, the gain, whatever... but only having very limited knowledge of all of the above, I was never able to make any kind of adjustment that mattered. I just lived with it, and sometimes even had to shut it off if the SO was home.

So this weekend I finally picked up the RadioShack SPL Meter and got my copy of DVE HD in the mail. I figured it was time to do the right thing and fix these problems (especially since I plan on picking up the Ultimate Matrix Collection on HD-DVD).

I went through a lot of the audio calibration, and while I think I have the loudspeakers set fine (they were maintaining a consistent 75dB around the room, I can't get the sub to register any LESS than 89dB at the same master volume.