Help with multi-zone setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-26-2007, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rocksolidsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to setup a multi-zone system using a Onkyo TX SR674 with 6 8 ohm speakers, 4 of the speakers are in the house and 2 of them are outside, I would like to have separate volume control for the two sets the 4 inside, and 2 outside. My question is do you think the Onkyo receiver could power these speakers (the speakers are 75 Watt max), and how should I wire this all together. I attached a picture of what I was thinking...

i186[dot]photobucket[dot]com/albums/x222/rocksolidsr/wiringdiagram

copy and paste that address into your browser and add .jpg on the end and replace [dot] with .

[IMG]wiring diagram.bmp[/IMG]
LL
rocksolidsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-27-2007, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rocksolidsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody?
rocksolidsr is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-27-2007, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Vista California
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need to be careful when you do this as the volume control if placed between the speakers and the receiver will alter the impedance which the receiver sees. This may or may not be a problem depending upon the impedance curve of the speakers, for one thing. In general, you should be fine. Look for a volume control which doesn't change the impedance (resistance) if there is such a thing.

I assume that you have a "second zone" setting on the receiver so that you don't have to play the same thing everywhere. I am not familiar with that particular receiver, but I'd look to see if there isn't a second volume control for a second zone which would be a much better choice. I have a Denon which works exactly that way.

Rgrds-Ross
ross is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-29-2007, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rocksolidsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for your response
I have looked at volume controls that have impedance matching is that what I would need?
rocksolidsr is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-30-2007, 03:55 AM
Senior Member
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Vista California
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes those are the ones you want. Simple volume controls put additional resistance between the speakers and the amp and that's not good for the amp. With those in place you should have no trouble at all. Make sure that they're rated for the amount of power (watts) you plan to put through them. That's why you're better off just enough power to make a loud sound in the first place.

Rgrds-Ross
ross is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off