Pre-Wire Your New Home - Chapter 5: The Actual “Pull” - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-27-2010, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bob Hetherington's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Pre-Wire Your New Home: Plan For The Future
Chapter 5: The Actual Pull
Author: David Feller


This is the fourth installment of a multi-part series covering all aspects of low voltage wiring in the home: entertainment, security, automation, and future planning. A new section will be published every few weeks.

Whatever systems or wires you choose, these general rules and procedures will make the job easier. Here are the topics covered in this chapter:

Overall Considerations
The Media Cabinet
Coordinate with your Electrician, LOTS to think about:
Pulling Wires
Prepare the spools
Plan the ends
Keep Wire in walls
Plan the Run
Pull Carefully
Secure the Wire properly and finish per code
Extra Tips

Read the complete article in the latest issue of our eMagazine at HomeToys.com
Bob Hetherington is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-27-2010, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
Hotcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is really a article with rich knowledge. I read less this kind article

Everyone has their own movies
Hotcher is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-27-2010, 10:19 PM
Newbie
 
babino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those are great articles. Thank you very much!

I just wish that I had found them a month ago before I finished my basement.

babino is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-28-2010, 10:37 AM
Member
 
gyrfalcon16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Chapter 3:

Generally a cat6 installation will run 30% more than a cat5e installation, and a full classF installation will run triple....

Cat5e is good to 100MHz - upgrades NEXT loss, return loss, and ELFEXT loss, 1Gb-T
Cat6 is good to 250MHz - doubles S/N ratio - 1Gb-TX, some can support 10Gb

Cat5e supports GbE just fine... No need for Cat6/7 unless you're going for 10GbE and no need to mention 1000BASE-TX since it's basically dead, thus the lack of need for Cat6 wiring and it's cost increase. Even if you have 10GbE equipment, the majority of home devices in the foreseeable future will never support it. I suppose an interim technology could be released to make use of Cat6 but it doesn't look promising.

I'm glad you covered installing conduit in chapter 4 though. It along with floor to floor wiring risers are almost always overlooked in homes. Any cabling that's installed will eventually go the way of the dodo bird and then pulling cable becomes a labor intensive task without them.

You might also want to mention the newer "Bundled Multimedia / Residential Structured Wiring Cable" that contains multiple cables since it reduces the needed pulls, size of conduit, and can add future expandability.

gyrfalcon16 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-30-2010, 03:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
interesting read, though I would check your local regs 1st before doing a thing as looking at that layout used in a home, personally if I was going to prewire a home or retrofit 1 I would use conduit right the way through..

comms cabling and data points base on 1 standard, cat-5e, cat-6a or cat-7, check the min regs with your telco provider..

2 years ago in Australia telco mandated cat-5e as a minimum install requirement..

not sure what your telco providers mandate min code install requirements within the states..

I would do a colour code install for comms cabling, personally i'd go for cat-6/6a..

where you're going to locate points close together 100mm separation should be observed with conduit going down the walls.. separation of services should be mandatory..

personally I'd base a whole home on 220v, it's a bit of a bitch having to use step down transformers on gear just so you can run 110v..
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-05-2010, 02:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not sure who you talking too???
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
Reply Community News & Polls

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off