RedEye Mini from ThinkFlood now on sale for $49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 07-20-2010, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bob Hetherington's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
RedEye Mini from ThinkFlood now on sale for $49


You've heard about it for months, and now the universal remote that looks nothing like a universal remote is finally on sale in 52 nations. Thinkflood's RedEye Mini -- which simply plugs into the headphone jack of your iPad, iPhone or iPod touch -- can now be procured for $49, and when used with the gratis app in the App Store, can control anything in your home entertainment setup that accepts IR commands. ZDNet was fortunate enough to get a little hands-on time with the device, and their early impressions are quite positive. In fact, they recommend skipping the Harmony hoopla and heading right for this if you're already an iDevice owner (who doesn't use an imposing case or Bumper), and at a buck under a Grant, we certainly aren't in a position to argue. Read a recent press release from ThinkFlood here. Engadget source.

For links and more stories visit the Hot Stories section at HomeToys.com
Bob Hetherington is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 07-20-2010, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 95
If it could hook into a remote IR blaster through Wi Fi... that would be great for those of us with equipment rooms. I guess we could simply use an IR repeater too, but that's one more piece in the puzzle.
erkq is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 03:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 2,957
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 314
i think physical buttons for volume and power are necessary. Also, there's no RF support or one-touch activity capability. For those with simple setups, I think this makes a great remote replacement. For those of us with more complex systems, however, sticking with the Logitech Harmony or Philips Pronto may be well worth it.

The Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| The System:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| The Video Series:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Social:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BrolicBeast is online now  
post #4 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 06:06 AM
Member
 
cheld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post

i think physical buttons for volume and power are necessary. Also, there's no RF support or one-touch activity capability. For those with simple setups, I think this makes a great remote replacement. For those of us with more complex systems, however, sticking with the Logitech Harmony or Philips Pronto may be well worth it.

Which remotes can control RF devices? My screen (Vutec) uses an RF remote and I've not found a universal that could control it.
cheld is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
velvet396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post

i think physical buttons for volume and power are necessary. Also, there's no RF support or one-touch activity capability. For those with simple setups, I think this makes a great remote replacement. For those of us with more complex systems, however, sticking with the Logitech Harmony or Philips Pronto may be well worth it.

Must agree. I don't feel like unlocking my device every time I want to change a channel, adjust the volume, pause quickly, etc.
velvet396 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
yamahaSHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to make my iPhone and iTouch work my complete system, but with an equipment room, this proves useless to me. Give me something that uses the BT or WiFi so that I can control all my equipment in the other room.

-Jason


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Almost "complete".
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SONY quality and customer service FTMFL
yamahaSHO is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheld View Post

Which remotes can control RF devices? My screen (Vutec) uses an RF remote and I've not found a universal that could control it.

I think he means like the Harmony 890... remote RF controlled IR blaster. It's indispensable in my setup.
erkq is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
HDCowboy42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Hetherington View Post

....if you're already an iDevice owner (who doesn't use an imposing case or Bumper), and at a buck......

Well I reckon that excludes all I-Phone 4's, damn things wont work WITHOUT an imposing case or Bumper!
HDCowboy42 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamahaSHO View Post

I want to make my iPhone and iTouch work my complete system, but with an equipment room, this proves useless to me. Give me something that uses the BT or WiFi so that I can control all my equipment in the other room.


Go look at the irule thread -- it will do what you want
mhdiab is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rudubb1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might be nice for the moments, (Crap where is that damn remote) / Calls iPhone

Come at me Broseph
XBox live GT:Dubs4President
rudubb1n is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudubb1n View Post

Might be nice for the moments, (Crap where is that damn remote) / Calls iPhone

Never thought of that. Very clever.
erkq is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post

If it could hook into a remote IR blaster through Wi Fi... that would be great for those of us with equipment rooms. I guess we could simply use an IR repeater too, but that's one more piece in the puzzle.

OK to clarify -- this is what you would do with irule and Global Cache

You use the irule as interface - basically create a remote on your iphone screen with commands. Then you press the button you have created and over the wifi the signal goes to a unit from Global cache - either the itach which accepts the wifi command and converts it to either IR or RS232 or their GC units if you have both RS232 and IR units in your rack. This will then control your equipment.

I am waiting for 2-way feedback which they say is in the next major upgrade. That will be a very sweet addition that at a reasonable price will allow me to sit in the HT and change sound modes and get confirmation on the screen what mode I am in.
mhdiab is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhdiab View Post

OK to clarify -- this is what you would do with irule and Global Cache

You use the irule as interface - basically create a remote on your iphone screen with commands. Then you press the button you have created and over the wifi the signal goes to a unit from Global cache - either the itach which accepts the wifi command and converts it to either IR or RS232 or their GC units if you have both RS232 and IR units in your rack. This will then control your equipment.

I am waiting for 2-way feedback which they say is in the next major upgrade. That will be a very sweet addition that at a reasonable price will allow me to sit in the HT and change sound modes and get confirmation on the screen what mode I am in.

Good... GC is a pretty sophisticated piece of equipment, especially if it talks to components over a two way serial line. I agree about being excited about this if they do that 2 way upgrade.
erkq is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
erkq -- it is confirmed by the developer as coming - just don't have a time-frame

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post18938452
mhdiab is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 12:55 PM
Member
 
darrellhayes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So when a call comes in and you answer it or if you actually want to use the iDevice to surf or whatever, the other people in the room can no longer operate any equipment.

I just don't see how this makes any sense.
darrellhayes is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrellhayes View Post

So when a call comes in and you answer it or if you actually want to use the iDevice to surf or whatever, the other people in the room can no longer operate any equipment.

I just don't see how this makes any sense.

Personally... I don't answer the phone or surf when watching a movie.
erkq is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrellhayes View Post

So when a call comes in and you answer it or if you actually want to use the iDevice to surf or whatever, the other people in the room can no longer operate any equipment.

I just don't see how this makes any sense.

Don't forget that what is your daily iphone today will be obsolete tomorrow. You will soon have a few laying around your house..... then it is a "free" remote. Heck you setup a little cradle thing on the wall and you got yourself a nice touch-screen interface for your entertainment area
mhdiab is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Smitty2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You are all haters. This looks awesome!

More as a supplement to an existing remote than a replace everything.
Smitty2k1 is online now  
post #19 of 20 Old 07-21-2010, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MattGuyOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been thinking about getting an iPad, and this would be really sweet to add to it. I'll have to keep this in mind when I finally pick one up.
MattGuyOR is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 08-15-2010, 11:31 PM
Newbie
 
AnyTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a long time lurker, I feel a bit strange chiming in here, but since no one has mentioned this, RedEye's main product does exactly what most of you are asking for. It sends ir commands over wifi to a base station in your rack/equipment room.

Also, one appeal of this device is the fact that each person in the house with an iPhone can get one and have their "own" customizable remote.

Plus, the possibilities for hijinks at the sports bar are endless...
AnyTech is offline  
Reply Community News & Polls

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off