Veebeam unveils PC-to-TV offering - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-14-2010, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bob Hetherington's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Veebeam unveils PC-to-TV offering


If there's been an underlying theme to consumer electronics in the past year, it's been this: audiences are looking for easier ways to view Web video on their big-screen TVs. That's really the promise of widget- and app-enabled TVs, Blu-ray players, game consoles, and Roku boxes, as well as the coming wave of specialized products such as Boxee, Apple TV, and Google TV. And it's exactly the market for which newcomer Veebeam is aiming as well. Veebeam can most accurately be described as a PC-to-TV video streamer. Plug the included USB dongle into your laptop, and whatever's on your computer screen will be streamed wirelessly to the Veebeam box that's connected to your TV--without the need for any convoluted wireless networking setup. For what it's worth, the HD version of the box supports output up to full 1080p HD video. Two modes will be offered: "screencasting," which mirrors the display on the laptop screen, and "play-to" mode, which presumably treats the TV as a second monitor (allowing you to use the PC for other tasks in the meantime, while simultaneously streaming the view). Two models will be available--the $99 Veebeam SD and the $139 Veebeam HD (which adds an HDMI output).

Source - cnet

For links and more stories visit the new Streaming Media section at HomeToys.com
Bob Hetherington is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-14-2010, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
gridbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can these gizmos be plugged into an AV receiver to get the full home theater effect? 'Cos that'd be totally sweet.

gridbug is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-14-2010, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Roginator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK, USA
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What do you lose by using a desktop rather than a laptop? It says you can use the trackpad on a laptop to control things... is there no other way?

I'm skeptical of this device after being burned several times by other gadgets that claimed to connect my PC to my TV. I'd just use a couple of cables, but then I have to disconnect a monitor.
Roginator is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-14-2010, 11:12 PM
Newbie
 
mmrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you can use a bluetooth mouse and keyboard on your desktop, logitech has a couple to choose from. i eliminated all devices together, I ran three cat5 cable to every tv in the house. two for HDMI over cat5. And one to extend usb over cat5... so one computer can be used at any tv in the house.
mmrap is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-15-2010, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Perpendicular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Gee, I thought this was a knife sharpener!

OPPO BETA GROUP
Perpendicular is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-15-2010, 06:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
thewarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perpendicular View Post

Gee, I thought this was a knife sharpener!

Me two. I coulda used that....
thewarm is offline  
Reply Community News & Polls

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off