What Is Your Downstream Bandwidth? - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


View Poll Results: What Is Your Downstream Bandwidth?
Less than 1 Mbps 8 0.82%
1-3 Mbps 32 3.27%
3-6 Mbps 41 4.19%
6-10 Mbps 53 5.41%
10-15 Mbps 114 11.64%
15-20 Mbps 127 12.97%
More than 20 Mbps 601 61.39%
I don't have broadband Internet access 3 0.31%
Voters: 979. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 319 Old 12-23-2014, 07:13 AM
Member
 
xmas111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have FIOS 50 up and 30 down.
xmas111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 319 Old 12-23-2014, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmas111 View Post
I have FIOS 50 up and 30 down.
Aren't they all symmetric now?
BiggAW is offline  
post #273 of 319 Old 12-23-2014, 02:33 PM
Member
 
xmas111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Aren't they all symmetric now?
Your right....been a long time since i did a speed test.

xmas111 is offline  
post #274 of 319 Old 12-31-2014, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Mediacom Cable 45down 10up
t-rav is offline  
post #275 of 319 Old 12-31-2014, 08:29 AM
Member
 
el_Fernando's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NorCal USA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I think how much we all pay is just as important as how fast.

20Mbps / 2.0Mbps ATT U-verse
45 bucks a month
San Jose

PS. If/when Goog Fiber comes into town I'm dumping ATT!
dnoonie likes this.

########################################
Don't underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
el_Fernando is offline  
post #276 of 319 Old 12-31-2014, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
dnoonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA area
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by el_Fernando View Post
I think how much we all pay is just as important as how
I agree 100%! How would someone write that poll?

I pay $85/month for "9211/ 889 Kbps" which measures out to about 8000 down/760up Kbps. It includes my phone service and long distance service as well.

This is pretty costly but I don't have much choice if I want reasonable service at all.

On the plus side:
  • Speed is consistent, no evening slowdown.
  • I get 24/7 support 365 days a year.
  • I've gotten discounts for outages since the service is 99% uptime guaranteed.
  • When I call support I get a real tech and not a call center person were English is a 3rd or 4th language and the folks are just reading a script (it's not their fault, they're management put them in a very bad spot).
Cheers,
dnoonie is online now  
post #277 of 319 Old 01-02-2015, 06:43 PM
Member
 
sm4llz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I get 180Mbps/20Mbps through comcast
sm4llz is offline  
post #278 of 319 Old 01-02-2015, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
John Sully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 107
60Mb/s down 4Mb/s up.

Charter Communications, Bozeman, MT
John Sully is offline  
post #279 of 319 Old 01-02-2015, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dave Moritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I have Verizon Fios Quantum and have 150mbps download and upload!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/4029706685.png

Supporter of 1080p & 4K video / Supporter of Lossless PCM, Dolby True HD and DTS HD Master Audio / Say No To MP3 & WMA / Say no to Bose
Dave Moritz is offline  
post #280 of 319 Old 01-03-2015, 01:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Meh, its ok

Free
269 MB/s Down
213 Mb/s Up
3 ms Ping
Cant post links, but if you go to speedtest and put this at the end you can see it /result/4029967339.png

Had to drop my DOCSIS 2.0 and then my DOCSIS 3.0 modems
DocCox is offline  
post #281 of 319 Old 01-03-2015, 08:07 AM
Member
 
huskerbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
3 down .3 up...DSL, rural area...best available.....$73 month...
huskerbear is offline  
post #282 of 319 Old 01-05-2015, 09:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1gbps duplex
kenzo86 is offline  
post #283 of 319 Old 01-05-2015, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark12547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon, United States, Earth
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenzo86 View Post
1gbps duplex
That sounds like an Ethernet port throughput.

If you run speedtest (http://www.speedtest.net/), what speeds does Speedtest give you?

My very humble setup:
Man Cave:Vizio E500i-A1 "Smart TV" (50-in 1080p 120Hz LED/LCD, has Netflix app.), Sony BDP-S3100 Blu-ray player, Roku N1000 (original model), PC (Windows 7), Comcast Internet (120Mbps/12Mbps).
Bedroom:LG 32LV3400-UA TV (32-in 768p 60Hz LED/LCD), HD DVR (Motorola RNG200N), Xfinity Comcast cable (Digital Preferred Plus), DVD/VHS player.
Mark12547 is offline  
post #284 of 319 Old 01-07-2015, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark12547 View Post
That sounds like an Ethernet port throughput.

If you run speedtest (http://www.speedtest.net/), what speeds does Speedtest give you?
Maybe a university LAN connection? Or gigabit fiber?
BiggAW is offline  
post #285 of 319 Old 01-07-2015, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Sparkygod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Lakewood Colorado
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 21
57/10
Sparkygod1 is offline  
post #286 of 319 Old 01-25-2015, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Moved to an area where Comcrap is the only choice. I am paying for 105/15 speeds.
The test was done on my laptop. Wireless on the 5gHz band of an Asus AC68P router.

lulimet is offline  
post #287 of 319 Old 01-25-2015, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Comcast 128/24 @ 105 plan thanks to the fact that they are lobbying the federal government to allow them to buyout a supposed "non-competitor".....
I get this speed throughout the day and it I pretty rock solid. I came from AT&T DSL which I had been on for years after getting booted off Comcast for using "too much bandwidth" and after AT&T instituted 150 GB/month data caps and started charging overages in 50 GB allocations, which caused my DSL bill to skyrocket and after a few months of that I decided to kick them to the curb, say f$c$ you to AT&T-good riddance, buy a DOCSIS 3 modem and have Comcast enter its mac into their database and have been a super happy camper ever since back in October when I made the switch.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #288 of 319 Old 01-31-2015, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
dnoonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA area
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 100
This is an awesome read from IEEE Spectrum.
FCC Redefines Broadband: Lack of Competition Now Obvious

It includes:
  • competition issues
  • advertised speed vs actual speed
  • what is broadband
  • net neutrality
  • fudging the "broadband" numbers
  • marketing vs reality
Cheers,
dnoonie is online now  
post #289 of 319 Old 02-14-2015, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Owen81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnoonie View Post
This is an awesome read from IEEE Spectrum.
FCC Redefines Broadband: Lack of Competition Now Obvious

It includes:
  • competition issues
  • advertised speed vs actual speed
  • what is broadband
  • net neutrality
  • fudging the "broadband" numbers
  • marketing vs reality
Cheers,
Great article, there is definitely some agreements between the top telecoms up here in Canada.

I'm on Shaw Cable
100 down / 5 up
Owen81 is online now  
post #290 of 319 Old 02-25-2015, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hmm not too sure what mine is I'll have to check I know you can get an app on your pone to check that to but I wonder if it has to do with your processing speed or only with the internet connection.
DougRamsen is offline  
post #291 of 319 Old 02-25-2015, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark12547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon, United States, Earth
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougRamsen View Post
I wonder if it has to do with your processing speed or only with the internet connection.
A slow processor or a poor WiFi connection can give a lower measured download rate.

For example, my previous computer, an old XP system (purchased before XP had its first service pack) would max out at about 10Mbps, but the Roku would often report 15Mbps to 20Mbps. When I purchased my current PC, speedtest.net would report about 25Mbps for the same cable modem and router, while the Roku still reported 15Mbps to 20Mbps.

Recently Comcast had me replace their modem and my router with their "gateway" (combination DOCSIS 3.0 modem / WiFi router) and they have increased my speed twice to where now I often get 120Mbps download rate on the current PC as reported by speedtest.net, but the Speedtest.net channel on that same first-generation Roku is reporting downloads in the 15Mbps to 35Mbps range (which apparently means the Roku can handle data better now that my Internet speed is much faster, but still not as well as my current PC).

All these tests are with the PC and the Roku "hard wired" (Ethernet) to the router, so the speed of the computer or Roku accounts for the variance in reported download speeds, not the speed of or interference to the wireless connection.

My very humble setup:
Man Cave:Vizio E500i-A1 "Smart TV" (50-in 1080p 120Hz LED/LCD, has Netflix app.), Sony BDP-S3100 Blu-ray player, Roku N1000 (original model), PC (Windows 7), Comcast Internet (120Mbps/12Mbps).
Bedroom:LG 32LV3400-UA TV (32-in 768p 60Hz LED/LCD), HD DVR (Motorola RNG200N), Xfinity Comcast cable (Digital Preferred Plus), DVD/VHS player.
Mark12547 is offline  
post #292 of 319 Old 02-25-2015, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
only 3mbps
yupaijo is offline  
post #293 of 319 Old 03-08-2015, 10:49 AM
Member
 
MyDuneHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
- Ping 35 ms
- Down 14.7 Mbps
- Up 0.70 Mbps

ADSL by Free in France
MyDuneHD is offline  
post #294 of 319 Old 03-08-2015, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
PS3forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Check out my Ookla Speedtest result. What's your speed? http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/1192333986

33+ 6+
Time Warner cable paying for 30/5
From my new LG g3 across the house from the router that's a floor below me. Literally 2 bars of wireless reception when tested and not even on the 5ghz band of my router.
PS3forlife is offline  
post #295 of 319 Old 03-13-2015, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
rms8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern IL just west of Chitown
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 139

*DIY ConcreteBunker Rustic Dream Build w/11' screen, 11.2chnl, 8x18" IB subs, 28.8KW*
GR Research LS-9 + LS-C | Denon AVR-4520 11.2 | Sony VPL-HW55ES | DaLite 11' screen | Sanway FP-14000 & FP-10000Q | Sherbourn PA 7-350 | Behringer iNuke NU1000DSP | 8x IB318's | Buttkicker Original(2x), LFE(2x), MiniLFE(8x) | MinDSP 2x4 | 21'W x 27'L x 10'H | MiniSplit
April 2015 HToM <> SuperCharged 10 second II
rms8 is offline  
post #296 of 319 Old 03-15-2015, 01:01 PM
Member
 
MiniMoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UVERSE "Max" (12 Mb/s) Data only, POTS phone


AT&T 4G/LTE

Moe

Last edited by MiniMoe; 03-15-2015 at 03:52 PM. Reason: Added 4G/LTE
MiniMoe is offline  
post #297 of 319 Old 03-15-2015, 08:57 PM
Newbie
 
JimMayor007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I whopping 2mbs and worth every of my landlords money
JimMayor007 is offline  
post #298 of 319 Old 03-15-2015, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 83
I pay for 150/10 my pc test @ 170/12 via ethernet my s5 about the same over wifi. My throughput is consistent brighthouse(Kissimmee,Fl) is OK. I only pay about 60 bucks and the extra bandwidth was free from 90mbps so no complaints. Except gigabit would be nice, but like other places Isps are just sitting on contracts doing nothing so no one else can lay fiber.
Rf13 is offline  
post #299 of 319 Old 03-16-2015, 04:07 PM
Member
 
sig3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
ATT Uverse (DFW area)

18.75 Mbps down
2.0 Mbps up
sig3 is offline  
post #300 of 319 Old 03-27-2015, 05:40 PM
Member
 
Gary61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox
50/5
Gary61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Community News & Polls

Tags
Polls

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off