Need advice on new remote: Bought refurbished Harmony 659 and hate it. Me or remote? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-13-2008, 07:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atwnsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Previously, I had a cheap $15 remote from radio shack that controlled all the devices and worked perfectly. Unfortunately, it died and I had bought a new TV so figured it was time to upgrade to the next generation of remotes.

I own a new Panasonic Plasma TV (TH-42PX80U) to go with my old DVR Panasonic Showstopper PVHS2000 and Panasonic DVD-S27 DVD Player. This is in the bedroom and there is no surround sound or any other devices. Just these 3 devices.

I decided to try the Harmony 659 refurbished from Amazon for $49. I spoke to customer service and they were pretty good at getting it set up. But then I started experience problems: It wouldn't work consistently and the lag time was ridiculous for watching TV. Also, there wasn't an enter button if I was changing channels so I had to wait the 1-3 seconds when watching tv with a two digit channel number.

I want to get another remote.

My criteria:

1) Operate all 3 devices without a lag time.
2) Unit that has good layout of button design and lighting at night.
3) A remote with an enter key (although factory tv remote doesn't have one)
4) Easy setup.

What can you suggest for my new remote?

Why is everybody enamored with the logitech harmony? Was it just that I had a bad experience or is it that much better? Please help me understand.

Thanks in advance

Anthony
atwnsw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-13-2008, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
First, I would suggest you check out the first thread in this section, Harmony Slow Response. Most likely your lag issues can be fixed by adjusting your delay and repeat values.

Second, there is an enter button on the lower right side of the 659 next to the zero button. I would check to make sure that it is programmed as enter. However, if your original TV remote doesn't have an enter button, I doubt there will be one available for the Harmony, and if there is it might not work.

Third, have you tried 3 channel numbers to change channels. Sometimes by entering three numbers it will change faster. So for channel 9 enter 009, or 035 for channel 35.

I think that most of your problems with the Harmony can be solved pretty easily if you do a little more homework. However, it could be the fact that your remote is a refurb, and it might not be working correctly.

I wish you luck, and I hope you can get your issues solved. I know that I have become very happy with my Harmony remotes, as are everyone else who uses them at my house.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-13-2008, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
If you give up on the Harmony, you might like THIS one (HERE is a good picture of one). I got a couple of these myself from this seller and am very happy with them. They are new and have lots of codes, so would likely work fine with all your devices.
mdavej is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-13-2008, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gaderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by atwnsw View Post

1) Operate all 3 devices without a lag time.

What do you mean by lag time? Is it from when you key in the channel to the remote (see Beer...) do a 3 digit channel number to get things faster (I know my old cable box had a setting to go right to the channel, or wait for the 'enter' button.)
Or is it that you tuner takes a while to switch to the new channel. If that, that the new 'feature' with digital tuners

Quote:
Originally Posted by atwnsw View Post

2) Unit that has good layout of button design and lighting at night.

Most newer universal remotes tend to, I really like my new Harmony One. I've upgraded from a 659--needed extra buttons to work my TiVo HD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by atwnsw View Post

3) A remote with an enter key (although factory tv remote doesn't have one)

As the other poster noted, if the standard remote doesn't have one, you're likely out of luck, but, do check the preferences of your tuner box and see what other settings they have for changing channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by atwnsw View Post

4) Easy setup.
Anthony

As a Mac user Harmony is really the only game in town, but, each universal remote has it's good and bad points.

erik g
gaderson is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off