Comcast remote choose receiver inputs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 12-20-2008, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
readams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony STR-DG910 along with a new Comcast DVR remote. I programmed the remote to work with the AUX button using code 31759.

I can change the receiver inputs in this mode using the number keys, but the inputs that these buttons select aren't useful.

In particular I'd like to be able to select the SAT input on the receiver using a button on the Comcast remote. This would let me watch TV without needing the receiver remote.

Is there some way to do that? Where would I go to find a comprehensive list of codes available for the remote?
readams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 12-20-2008, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kupakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Try this:

1. Press and release AUX
2. Press and hold SETUP until the remote blinks twice
3. Type 994
4. Press and release SETUP
5. Type 15560
6. Press the button you want to assign the SAT function to
Now when you press the button you used in step 6, the receiver should go to SAT input.

This page has fairly comprehensive lists of all Sony ir commands, but it doesn't seem to have more recent ones (for example SAT that you asked about). Also you need to convert those command codes to advanced codes you need to type in to the remote.
Kupakai is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 12-20-2008, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Or switch to code 31758 and use these advanced codes:

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...d.cgi?5279,1#5
Edmund is online now  
post #4 of 23 Old 12-20-2008, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
readams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Kupakai, you are a god among mortals.
readams is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 12-20-2008, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kupakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

Or switch to code 31758 and use these advanced codes:

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...d.cgi?5279,1#5

Actually, most of those advanced codes listed on that page will work with setup code 31759 as well. The commands for DVD functions will not work, and there might be some other (I haven't checked all of them).
Kupakai is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 02-25-2010, 05:12 PM
Member
 
obsidian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm stuggling with this same issue...trying to get TV/SAT function for a Sony STR-DA1000ES receiver mapped to a AUX button on a Comcast DVR remote. I tried the code you listed here for the other person and checked the links but have been unable to get it to work.

I know this is an old thread....any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thx!
obsidian is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 02-25-2010, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Try
15660
15664
47309
45147
53595
55757

Make sure that you have successfully programmed setup code 31759 or 31758 (only works for remotes with red OK/Select button).
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #8 of 23 Old 02-26-2010, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by obsidian View Post

I'm stuggling with this same issue...trying to get TV/SAT function for a Sony STR-DA1000ES receiver mapped to a AUX button on a Comcast DVR remote. I tried the code you listed here for the other person and checked the links but have been unable to get it to work.

I know this is an old thread....any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thx!

Aux button, as in the device key AUX?
Edmund is online now  
post #9 of 23 Old 02-26-2010, 07:45 AM
Member
 
obsidian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I guess I wrote that a little confusing...not the AUX key directly. I meant another button once in AUX mode.
obsidian is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 02-26-2010, 07:48 AM
Member
 
obsidian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much...I was able to get it working with 47309 once I had AUX programmed to 31758.

What was confusing for me is that with AUX in 31758 no buttons worked with the receiver by default. Once I used 994/47309 to program a button to TV/SAT it worked. Then I changed the AUX mode back to 30158 where everything else works, but this time it remembered the TV/SAT button programmed....so everything works. I hope I explained that right

Thanks again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3FingeredGlove View Post

Try
15660
15664
47309
45147
53595
55757

Make sure that you have successfully programmed setup code 31759 or 31758 (only works for remotes with red OK/Select button).

obsidian is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 02-26-2010, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Yes, on a UEI remote, when a button is pressed, the remote first looks to see if a keymove has been assigned to that button. If not, it then checks for a macro definition on that button. If no macro exists, it sends the IR signal ordinarily associated with the current setup code.

You assigned a keymove while 31758 was the AUX setup code, and the assignment involves storing the 5 digit EFC that you entered, and also the address of the executor (the subroutine that actually formats the pattern of IR light flashes) as well as the device numbers associated with 31758.

After re-assigning 30158, most of the buttons use the built-in EFCs, executor, and device numbers of 30158, but the keymove(s) are stored separately, and get priority.
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #12 of 23 Old 02-28-2010, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
mgutberl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is very informative but I am not having luck programming my Comcast remote for my Sony AVD-K800P DVD Receiver. I have tried all of the Sony codes provided in the Comcast instructions and cannot get even the power button to work. I would be really happy if I could just get the power and volume controls to work. Any insights for a novice? Thanks.
mgutberl is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 02-28-2010, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The above info is for a Sony receiver, but your unit is probably considered to be a Home Theater system. Try following these instructions.

Short summary of how to test:
Use setup code 31758
1) Press Setup
2) Enter 31951
When you press the 5th digit, the Volume should go down. 32975 should make it go up.

The above link tells how to assign these and other functions to buttons.
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #14 of 23 Old 02-28-2010, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
mgutberl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3FingeredGlove, that worked. Thanks for the insight!
mgutberl is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 05-12-2010, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
jms289's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nobody has been on this thread for a while but i'm still hoping someone can help me out.
I'm trying to set my remote for my Sony STR-DG710, i tried the codes and directions from the first part and it worked and I was able to set the SAT on 1 right and i had sa/cd on 3. I was also trying to put video 1 in also, however none of the other codes seemed to get it to work. I tried another code and it got rid of the sa/cd button. Could anyone be able to give me the codes to get video and sa/cd on there?
jms289 is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 05-12-2010, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Using Setup Code 1758 (or 11758 if a red OK/Select button remote)

SA/CD should be 08137 or 08141
TV/SAT 45257 or 47309
Video 1 08393 or 08397
Video 2 65993 or 65997
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #17 of 23 Old 11-08-2010, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
yoda007x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I'm hoping someone can help me, too. The list linked above worked for all my commands but my old Sony STR-DE697 went out on me and I had to get a new Sony STR-DH10. I'm trying to find codes for the BD, HDMI 1-4, TV and Night Mode buttons.
yoda007x is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 01-01-2011, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
shane66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kupakai View Post

Try this:

1. Press and release AUX
2. Press and hold SETUP until the remote blinks twice
3. Type 994
4. Press and release SETUP
5. Type 15560
6. Press the button you want to assign the SAT function to
Now when you press the button you used in step 6, the receiver should go to SAT input.

This page has fairly comprehensive lists of all Sony ir commands, but it doesn't seem to have more recent ones (for example SAT that you asked about). Also you need to convert those command codes to advanced codes you need to type in to the remote.

That worked for my STR-DG920.

Thanks
shane66 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 01-11-2011, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
Polyknikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,

This is one of the most informative threads I have ever read about such a specific subject!

That being said, I have a similar problem which is that I am trying to program my comcast remote (red ok button) to select my HDMI 1 input on my sony STR-DH810 receiver. I followed the above advice and looked over the linked webpages but I'm afraid I don't fully understand them. Programming my remote as posted originally by Kupakai worked correctly in that it selects SAT input, but I need HDMI 1 and have not been able to guess that one yet. If it is not too much trouble the codes for HDMI 2 & 3 would be helpful too for my BD and computer inputs.

Thank you very much for any help
Polyknikes is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 01-11-2011, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I don't know the DH810 codes for sure, but generally Sony receivers use Sony 20, device 16, subdevice 40 for the newer input functions like HDMI1. Unfortunately, the Comcast remotes are not able to send these IR signals.

The RCA RCRP05B and OneForAll URC-8820N, OARN08G (42172), OARN05G (42712), OARI06G can send these signals using setup code 2172 or 42172. Just for reference, here are the EFCs which would work with setup code 2172 and perhaps with 41272:
HDMI1 35528
HDMI2 34504
HDMI3 35016
HDMI4 33992
HDMI5 35784
Network 34760
BD 35272
HDMI6 27592
HDMI Toggle 26056
HDMI Output A 59848
HDMI Output B 58824

I don't know if the OARN0xG remotes can be programmed with EFCs.
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #21 of 23 Old 01-13-2011, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
For the OARN0xG, Audio setup codes take the prefix 4, rather than the traditional 3 that is used in most UEI remotes which use 5 digit setup codes. (The OARN0xG remotes use both 2 (VCR) and 3 (DVD, etc.) for Video, and 5 for Cable).
The other remotes listed use 4 digit setup codes.

However, I don't actually know if the OARN0xG remotes can be manually programmed with EFCs. So while they will control the Sony receiver, soem important functions might not be useable. I've edited my previous post to make that point.
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #22 of 23 Old 01-21-2011, 09:42 AM
Member
 
cambo16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have a Sony receiver that came with an HTIB (HT-7100DH). I have a comcast cable box (assigned to dvd) and a ps3 (assigned to video 2) and the optical audio return from the tv for DLNA video (assigned to video 1). I was wondering how i can assign these inputs to a comcast remote (red button). Any help. I'm kinda new to this, so please bear with me. Thanks!

-Brian
cambo16 is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 01-21-2011, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Try some of these. If they don't work we can try device 16 instead of 48, but I think this class of receiver will use 48.
Function EFC
Aux 65481
Video 2 65993
Video 1 08393
Digital 21193
Video 5 20169
Video 4 19657
Digital 1 21449
Digital 2 20425
MD/Tape 44745
TV, TV/Sat 45257
DVD/LD 44233
5.1 DVD, Mult Ch 28873
DVD, DVD/LD 61385
Video 3 20681
3FingeredGlove is online now  
Reply Remote Control Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off