The Harmony 1100 Owner's Thread... - Page 70 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2078 Old 01-22-2016, 12:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mak99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: seattle/renton, wa
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Am I the last person at AVS who still owns a Harmony 1100?
Add another "nope!" to the responses!

I have two 1100's for two separate systems - a main level "everyday" system, and a dedicated basement media room that's typically only used on the weekends. And a friend of mine also has one, which he bought quite a few years ago via my recommendation.

I only use the RF feature in the media room, for controlling the Lutron Maestro IR dimmer switch. All other signals are IR, which are send to the remote equipment rack via a Xantech repeater system. About the only RF issue I have is when the cleaners might bump the stand where the blaster is...

BTW, I see you're in Palo Alto. I worked on a project at Stanford shopping center back in 2010, so was onsite a few times...you live in a great area!

still one of my favorite bumper stickers of all time...

FREE TIBET! *
* with purchase of equal or lesser Tibet
mak99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2078 Old 01-23-2016, 06:17 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,908
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 1978
Quote:
Originally Posted by mak99 View Post
Add another "nope!" to the responses!

BTW, I see you're in Palo Alto. I worked on a project at Stanford shopping center back in 2010, so was onsite a few times...you live in a great area!
Seattle is great too.

RF is essential in our setup because everything except the Kuro is in another room.
htwaits is online now  
post #2073 of 2078 Old 01-23-2016, 08:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mak99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: seattle/renton, wa
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Seattle is great too.
Maybe not this week - weather's been crap!

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
RF is essential in our setup because everything except the Kuro is in another room.
I remember your posts over in the 9G Elite thread - I'm also a 141 owner which is part of my everyday system, and even that is not used often enough (only ~4300 hours on the panel).

For the media room, I had thought about going full RF since all gear except the PJ is in another room, but instead installed the Xantech setup for quickest response. Glad to know your RF works well so I might have to try that option down the road...

still one of my favorite bumper stickers of all time...

FREE TIBET! *
* with purchase of equal or lesser Tibet
mak99 is offline  
post #2074 of 2078 Old 01-27-2016, 02:02 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,908
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 1978
Quote:
Originally Posted by mak99 View Post
Maybe not this week - weather's been crap!


I remember your posts over in the 9G Elite thread - I'm also a 141 owner which is part of my everyday system, and even that is not used often enough (only ~4300 hours on the panel).

For the media room, I had thought about going full RF since all gear except the PJ is in another room, but instead installed the Xantech setup for quickest response. Glad to know your RF works well so I might have to try that option down the road...
All of our components are on a rack behind the same wall where the TV is hung. I brought a IR blaster back through the wall and pasted it to the TV's receptor. I'm at the point where I don't mess with anything that works reasonably well.
htwaits is online now  
post #2075 of 2078 Old 06-01-2016, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
davisnub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mak99 View Post
Add another "nope!" to the responses!

I have two 1100's for two separate systems - a main level "everyday" system, and a dedicated basement media room that's typically only used on the weekends. And a friend of mine also has one, which he bought quite a few years ago via my recommendation.

I only use the RF feature in the media room, for controlling the Lutron Maestro IR dimmer switch. All other signals are IR, which are send to the remote equipment rack via a Xantech repeater system. About the only RF issue I have is when the cleaners might bump the stand where the blaster is...

BTW, I see you're in Palo Alto. I worked on a project at Stanford shopping center back in 2010, so was onsite a few times...you live in a great area!
the dimmer switch that you are using, is it currently dimming led or incandescent?
davisnub is online now  
post #2076 of 2078 Old 06-20-2016, 08:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mak99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: seattle/renton, wa
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by davisnub View Post
the dimmer switch that you are using, is it currently dimming led or incandescent?
Sorry for the late reply, haven't been online here for a bit...

Incandescent BR30's, unfortunately - which is what the IR switch was designed for. I tried using LED bulbs (six @ 13-watt ea) but they would flash, so no go there . I called Lutron and asked if they had any LED-compatible IR dimmers coming out but they indicated "no".

What I haven't tried is using a combo of incandescent and LEDs to see if that might work..might just give that a try. Of course since the media room lights are only on for maybe ten total minutes whenever I do use the media room (once/week at most), sneaking in a few LEDs probably won't make a noticeable dent in my electric bill...

still one of my favorite bumper stickers of all time...

FREE TIBET! *
* with purchase of equal or lesser Tibet
mak99 is offline  
post #2077 of 2078 Old 06-20-2016, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by mak99 View Post
Sorry for the late reply, haven't been online here for a bit...

Incandescent BR30's, unfortunately - which is what the IR switch was designed for. I tried using LED bulbs (six @ 13-watt ea) but they would flash, so no go there . I called Lutron and asked if they had any LED-compatible IR dimmers coming out but they indicated "no".

What I haven't tried is using a combo of incandescent and LEDs to see if that might work..might just give that a try. Of course since the media room lights are only on for maybe ten total minutes whenever I do use the media room (once/week at most), sneaking in a few LEDs probably won't make a noticeable dent in my electric bill...

I have a Lutron dimmer tied to a 7 watt LED in the ceiling that my wife uses as a reading light.

What I did to make it work correctly: In the attic I attached a 60 watt incandescent to the LED power line. When the LED comes on, so does the 60 watt in the attic. The LED works perfect and when I need an attic light, that also works.

I control it with my 1100

.

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung UN78JS9500, mLG OLED55E6P
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD player, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, Harmony Elite, 9 Noctua cooling fans

Last edited by JimShaw; 06-20-2016 at 10:02 PM.
JimShaw is offline  
post #2078 of 2078 Old 06-22-2016, 10:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mak99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: seattle/renton, wa
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 21
^^ Jim, interesting workaround! When I have some time I'll try a combo in my media room to see if that makes any difference...

Re: your attic light, just make sure your wife doesn't turn off her light while you're in the attic! I installed a separate circuit/outlet in the attic and installed a set of construction lights (100' long, 10 lights total) - talk about being the best-lit room in the house!

still one of my favorite bumper stickers of all time...

FREE TIBET! *
* with purchase of equal or lesser Tibet
mak99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Harmony 1100 Remcontrol , Directv , Sony

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off