If I buy an RF remote, do I still need an RF base station? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-03-2009, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BAMAJAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am totally new to universal remotes and am not sure what I am doing. If I buy an RF remote, do I still need to get a base station to go with it? My components are in the same room and in a cabinet, but the components are really low and I have to raise my hand up and point down to get the components to respond. I would like to just point the remote any direction and get the stuff to respond. Will I need a base station and have to run the wire relays to the IR windows on the remote? Would I be better off getting an IR repeater and where should I mount it?
BAMAJAS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-03-2009, 05:27 PM
Member
 
xpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It depends what type of remote you buy. If, for example, you buy the Harmony 890, it comes with the RF extender (or "base station" as you call it). The remote sends RF signals to the extender, which converts them to IR and sends them on to your devices. If, on the other hand, you buy the 890 Pro or 1000, you need to buy the RF extender separately. Then there's Pronto remotes, URC... pick a remote and/or price range first if you want some suggestions.
xpat is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-03-2009, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BAMAJAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Budget is less than $150
BAMAJAS is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-04-2009, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Indian River, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The URC RF20/MRF100 bundle is well within your price range. I use this combo with one of my systems and it works quite well.

http://www.amazon.com/RFS200-PowerPa...3806488&sr=8-1

Jonathan
jrwhite is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-04-2009, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How many components? Do you already have an IR universal remote?

I use this IR extender system with my Harmony 670 and it works great.

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off