IR Receiver Module on TV - is it Std item? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-04-2009, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stvlai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I just have a question about the typical IR Receiver Module on the TV itself. I am just trying to experiment ways to improve a Remote Control Sensitivity. I have read in other threads about replacing the IR Receiver module.

Is the IR Receiver module a standard item? I mean does any kind of Receiver can replace my existing TV Receiver module, irregardless of the Frequency or Voltage?

Any advise or info would be very much appreciated. Thanks

SLKW
stvlai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-04-2009, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
You're going to have to do some research. There are several parameters that will have to match. If it uses three pins then you have a chance. The pins are usually supply voltage, data, and ground. It is possible to carry the data over the supply voltage, however, and those would be tough to sub. I also saw one that had a tiny 8bit micro that filtered the data and only passed certain codes through it. All of them have a filter that removes the carrier frequency, so only data exits the module.

You'll have to match the voltage: 5VoltsDC or 12VoltsDC.
You will need one that operates in the same carrier range: 35khz -> 60khz+ options. A 40khz remote probably won't communicate well with a 60khz receiver.
From data about the remote codes for the original and potential replacement, you may be able to determine the frequencies.

Some techniques that I have used with IR repeaters has been to remove the metal shield around the IR LED and remove the colored filter (replace with clear tape or thinner plastic) in front of it. Bending or moving the pickup LED closer to the front of the cabinet can improve reception also.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-04-2009, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
The Robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chicago, IL (from London, UK)
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you mention the brand and model of your TV, I'll see if I can look up the codes so I can tell you the carrier frequency.

Later, Rob

Select a link for questions on: Remotes, JP1, JP1 Forums
I prefer emails to PMs, my email is rob1 (at) rockabilly (dot) net
The Robman is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-04-2009, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stvlai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Many thanks for all the good info that was posted.

My TV is the Sceptre x32BV-FullHD. Would you happen to have the info for this model?

Thanks

SLKW
stvlai is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-04-2009, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
The Robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chicago, IL (from London, UK)
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was going to say that I've never heard of a Sceptre, but it turns out that I have upgrade files for three different models, though not your Sceptre x32BV-FullHD unfortunately.

Here's the protocol info for the three models that I have:

Sceptre X30SV Naga III = NEC2, device 0.43 (38kHz)
Sceptre X37SV Naga = Sony12, device 1 (40kHz)
Sceptre X42 Naga = Sony12, device 1 (40kHz)

If your model uses the same codes as any of those, it means that a standard 40kHz IR receiver would work for you.

Later, Rob

Select a link for questions on: Remotes, JP1, JP1 Forums
I prefer emails to PMs, my email is rob1 (at) rockabilly (dot) net
The Robman is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-04-2009, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stvlai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Rob

In your experience, would changing to another type of 40kHz IR Receiver improve the Remote performance, in terms of sensitivity, distance? Just curious to know.

I will give it a shot. Thanks a lot for all your helpful info.

SLKW
stvlai is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-04-2009, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stvlai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Rob

Just 1 more question, do you recommend to change out the module on the Remote Control (is that Transmitter or Receiver) and Receiver on the TV?

Do you call the module on the Remote Control Receiver or Transmitter? Kind of silly question but I need to clarify it.

Thanks

SLKW
stvlai is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off