Acoustic Research XSight Remote - Page 31 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 910 Old 02-22-2015, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ejhuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I'm trying to create an account at EZ-RC, but Create Account tells me my email is already registered and Logon Forgot Password tells me the email is NOT registered. Any ideas guys?
ejhuzy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 910 Old 02-22-2015, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
Sense/Net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Never use EZ-RC off the CD. It's really, really, really out of date. If you have Win 8.1, you must do the hack. Just go back a few pages to my post about it. If you didn't do the hack already, your remote is probably stuck in upgrade mode.
Use internet explorer. Doesn't work with any other browser. Even then you might need to use a compatibility mode. The hardware might be fantastic, but software is an afterthought at best.
Sense/Net is offline  
post #903 of 910 Old 02-22-2015, 08:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,415
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejhuzy View Post
I'm trying to create an account at EZ-RC, but Create Account tells me my email is already registered and Logon Forgot Password tells me the email is NOT registered. Any ideas guys?
I think I had that problem when I was using Firefox. IE worked. You can configure a remote from scratch with RM-IR, but I was told to set it up as much as you can with EZ-RC first to speed thing along. I haven't yet fully set mine up. I need to spend the time and get it working. My Harmony 880 still works (with a firm press on a few of the buttons) so motivation has been a bit lacking.
Stereodude is offline  
post #904 of 910 Old 02-23-2015, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ejhuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sense/Net View Post
Use internet explorer. Doesn't work with any other browser. Even then you might need to use a compatibility mode. The hardware might be fantastic, but software is an afterthought at best.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I think I had that problem when I was using Firefox. IE worked. You can configure a remote from scratch with RM-IR, but I was told to set it up as much as you can with EZ-RC first to speed thing along. I haven't yet fully set mine up. I need to spend the time and get it working. My Harmony 880 still works (with a firm press on a few of the buttons) so motivation has been a bit lacking.
Thanks guys. I'll try IE (I had tried Firefox and Safari).
ejhuzy is online now  
post #905 of 910 Old 02-25-2015, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ejhuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks for all the help guys. I was able to set up an account by using IE. Hard to believe in this day and age stuff is written to a specific browser.

Anyway, my next question is can I connect my XSight remote to my PC with my Harmony One remote? If not, where do I get one of these cables?
ejhuzy is online now  
post #906 of 910 Old 02-26-2015, 09:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,840
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Your question makes no sense. If you're asking if your Harmony cable will work, then I have no idea. Try it and see.

EDIT: Your Touch (18G) should have come with a cable. The Touch (18G) and Color (15G) use a Mini-B cable. The Plus (12G), uses a Micro-B (same as a Harmony 600/650/700). Both are very common. If you have a phone, camera or MP3 player, you probably already have the right cable. Otherwise they're about a buck on ebay and Monoprice, or a few bucks more at your local gas station or drug store.

Last edited by mdavej; 02-26-2015 at 10:48 AM.
mdavej is offline  
post #907 of 910 Old 02-26-2015, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ejhuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Your question makes no sense. If you're asking if your Harmony cable will work, then I have no idea. Try it and see. Need to know what model Xsight to tell you what cable to buy.
Sorry for the newbie questions. I bought this remote used and it didn't come with a cable. The model is the AARX18G. The one that supports 18 devices.

Thanks for the help.
ejhuzy is online now  
post #908 of 910 Old 02-26-2015, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,840
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 519
I hope it at least came with a charging base. See my edited post above.
mdavej is offline  
post #909 of 910 Old Today, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejhuzy View Post
Sorry for the newbie questions. I bought this remote used and it didn't come with a cable. The model is the AARX18G. The one that supports 18 devices.

Thanks for the help.
Ed,

My apologies. I am sorry. I should have sent you a cable. I kind of assume everyone has a dozen of these things laying around. They were/are used on everything from mp3 players to phones to computer peripherals. It utilizes the exact same cable as your Harmony One. They are standard mini-usb cables.

John
nohjy is online now  
post #910 of 910 Old Today, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ejhuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
EDIT: Your Touch (18G) should have come with a cable. The Touch (18G) and Color (15G) use a Mini-B cable. The Plus (12G), uses a Micro-B (same as a Harmony 600/650/700). Both are very common. If you have a phone, camera or MP3 player, you probably already have the right cable. Otherwise they're about a buck on ebay and Monoprice, or a few bucks more at your local gas station or drug store.
Dave, thanks for the specifics. Now that I know there's nothing proprietary about the cable, I'm good. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohjy View Post
My apologies. I am sorry. I should have sent you a cable. I kind of assume everyone has a dozen of these things laying around. They were/are used on everything from mp3 players to phones to computer peripherals. It utilizes the exact same cable as your Harmony One. They are standard mini-usb cables.
John
No worries, John. I did a quick RF test of the remote with my DirecTV receivers. Works nice.
ejhuzy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Acoustic Research , Harmony 1100 Remcontrol , Remotes And Controllers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off