Acoustic Research XSight Remote - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 39Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1129 Old 09-13-2016, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 80
That would be really good if true. My Luton IR dimmers don't work great with LED bulbs.
xnappo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1129 Old 09-14-2016, 12:47 AM
Member
 
foxxiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I recently saw on the OFA support site that the Touch / C3 apparently natively supports at least some RF lighting systems. I've asked them for more details and will post what they say. But in the mean time, has anyone had any success natively controlling any RF lights with their Xsight remote? It would be really cool if it actually works. We wouldn't have to rely on crappy IR gateways anymore.

On a different subject, OFA has also published their own Win 8/8.1/10 patch for Xsight and Nevo. It appears to be much the same as registry files we made at hifi-remote.com.
Touch: http://www.oneforall.com/downloads/d...tion_patch.zip
Color: http://www.oneforall.com/downloads/d...tion_patch.zip
Confirmed.
I have it working with KlikAanKlikUit lights. Google for other names of them used in different countries.

Sent from my ZX Spectrum 48k
foxxiu is offline  
post #1113 of 1129 Old 09-14-2016, 03:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,285
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxxiu View Post
Confirmed.
I have it working with KlikAanKlikUit lights. Google for other names of them used in different countries.

Sent from my ZX Spectrum 48k
Thanks! If you use Remote Master, would you mind posting your file here (you have to create an account first. Sorry)
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...load&cat_id=35
I'd like to see what the file for an RF device looks like.

OFA US refused to answer because Xsight isn't their brand in US. OFA UK responded, "One For All universal remotes do not support Automation and or RF devices". But that is in direct contradiction to the FAQ I posted and to your own experience. I gave it another try and will hopefully get a better answer from them.

In the mean time, I think I'll connect to ez-rc and see what automation/lighting devices I can find.
mdavej is offline  
post #1114 of 1129 Old 09-14-2016, 05:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,285
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 919
These are the Home Automation brands from ez-rc. Anybody recognize some that may be RF only? I started to make a list of models. But ez-rc limits me to about 10 searches per session. So it's going to take a very long time to compile. The few that I do recognize, like Lutron, has IR codes only, as far as I can tell.

Spoiler!
mdavej is offline  
post #1115 of 1129 Old 09-15-2016, 09:50 PM
Member
 
foxxiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Thanks! If you use Remote Master, would you mind posting your file here (you have to create an account first. Sorry)
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...load&cat_id=35
I'd like to see what the file for an RF device looks like.

OFA US refused to answer because Xsight isn't their brand in US. OFA UK responded, "One For All universal remotes do not support Automation and or RF devices". But that is in direct contradiction to the FAQ I posted and to your own experience. I gave it another try and will hopefully get a better answer from them.

In the mean time, I think I'll connect to ez-rc and see what automation/lighting devices I can find.
Hi,

To add KlikAnnKlikUit or COCO or Intertechno devices (same things only differently branded) I just followed instruction I received from OneForAll:

When setting up the light control on the Xsight you can use the device Home Automation, and the brand One For All.
The COCO devices work on the same codes as the One For All light switches.
In our One For All Home automations codes you will find 12 codes, these 12 codes correspond to the letters A,B,C on the COCO units. Then the numberkeys 1 till 9 and 0 will correspond to the COCO switches numbers 1,2,3, etc.
If these COCO switches are the newer ones, you could learn the COCO switches from the Xsight on any of the 12 codes under Home Automation and brand One For All

To set up the Light Control on your remote, please follow this procedure:

1. On the Xsight, go to Settings and then to RF On/Off. The display should read 'RF Transmission is currently ON'.
2. Click OK.
3. You should still be in the Settings menu. Click Device Setup and then Add Device.
4. The display will read: 'What is it?'.
5. Choose Home Automation.
6. The display will read: 'Select Brand'.
7. Choose the brand One For All.
8. The display will read: 'Next, we'll make sure we've got the right codes. Turn on your One For All and point the remote towards it'.
9. Follow the instructions and click Begin Test.
10. The Display will read: 'One For All Home Automation Testing code 1/12. Test the Power Button...'.
11. Press Works on the first code.
12. The display will read: 'Congratulations! You've successfully set up your One For All Home Automation. Add another device?'.
13. Press No, press No again on the next question, and then press Home.

Now you will need to reset your RF Receiver:
Keep the button on the RF Receiver pressed until the red light starts to flash repeatedly. Release the button and then press it again. Keep it pressed until the red light turns off.

Now follow the next procedure:
14. On the Xsight, go to Devices.
15. Choose One for All Home automation.
16. Press 1 (or 2 or 3).
17. Keep the button on the RF Receiver pressed until the red light starts to flash repeatedly, then release the button.
18. Press Power On and the light should turn on, Press Power Off and the light should go out.

To program other Light controls, repeat steps 16-18.
foxxiu is offline  
post #1116 of 1129 Old 09-16-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,285
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Great info. Thanks for posting it! Unfortunately for me, the One For All home automation device does not exist in my US remote. But I will try to add it from ez-rc and see what happens.

OFA UK finally responded. They can't give me the full list of supported devices. But I can ask them about specific devices, and they will confirm. So, Xnappo, if you or others want to know about specific models, please post them here and I will get answers. In the mean time, I will ask about the major brands found at US home improvement stores.
mdavej is offline  
post #1117 of 1129 Old 09-16-2016, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Hi,

I purchased another Nevo C3. Unfortunately this one presents with the same problem over and over. It is useable for a few commands and then it locks up and reboots. It also will not allow me to factory reset it. I go to the reset area in settings and does not do anything when I select reset for the second time. Does anyone know how to force a factory reset or have any other ideas on how fix the remote?

Thanks,

John
nohjy is offline  
post #1118 of 1129 Old 09-16-2016, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohjy View Post
Hi,

I purchased another Nevo C3. Unfortunately this one presents with the same problem over and over. It is useable for a few commands and then it locks up and reboots. It also will not allow me to factory reset it. I go to the reset area in settings and does not do anything when I select reset for the second time. Does anyone know how to force a factory reset or have any other ideas on how fix the remote?

Thanks,

John

I was able to solve my problem. I reloaded my firmware by removing the battery, holding the power button and OK button down at the same time and reinserting the battery. The remote then goes into upgrade mode. Then I connected the remote to my computer and logged onto EZ-RC and it automatically reinstalled the firmware. Now it works perfectly.

John
nohjy is offline  
post #1119 of 1129 Old 09-17-2016, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,285
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Glad you got it working. It won't reload the same firmware version over again. You actually got a new version.

For future reference, to do a factory reset, you press 981 then Reset. But in my experience, that usually doesn't fix an unresponsive remote.
mdavej is offline  
post #1120 of 1129 Old 09-20-2016, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Philip Brandes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all, this seems like a very well-informed group! I'm interested in comparisons between the Xsight Touch (+RMIR) and the Harmony Elite as a replacement for my aging URC MX-850 (10 years+ and still going strong but which is unable to learn some newer device codes). My system is very AV-centric (LG OLED, Oppo 103D, AppleTV, Roku, cableTV, Lexicon MC-12HD, and recently added DVDO iScan Mini and Quick6R HDMI switcher); with Philips Hue the only home automation device I'd look to integrate and even that would be optional. Everything is currently line-of-sight IR-based though I may upgrade AppleTV if/when they release a 4K version.

So my questions about the two remotes boil down to these general considerations:

1. Software: I have always done the MX-850 programming myself using the URC software and am very comfortable using its full capabilities (macros, delays, jumps, etc.). How do the RM and MyHarmony measure up in terms of flexibility and control? Are there any advantages/trade-offs to one or the other? What would be gained/lost relative to the URC MX-850 software? Also, I am Mac-based, can I program the Touch entirely with RM, or do I also need to gin up a native UEL software install through Windows 7?

2. Ergonomics: How comfortable/easy to use are they? I generally prefer hard buttons, though in my usage I rarely use the numeric keypad so losing that isn't a factor. I'm more concerned about feel/balance, ease of operating buttons by feel, etc. How well does that Touch page slider thingy work vs. swiping?

3. Durability: Obviously the Elite is relatively new so it doesn't have a long-term track record, but I'm wondering how does the Xsight Touch hold up over time? (I tend to hang on to remotes for a long time once I get them configured).

4. Other practical considerations: differences in time between charging, battery replacement, etc.?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

- Philip Brandes
Philip Brandes is offline  
post #1121 of 1129 Old 09-20-2016, 01:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,285
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Xsight really isn't in the same league as URC or Elite, so it's going to fall far short in many respects. I think it was meant to compete with the Harmony 900 and One. I'm also not very familiar with URC software, so I can't give you a lot of specifics. But I'll try to answer the best I can.

1. Xsight macros are practically unlimited length with variable delays and hold durations at each step. No programmatic jumps to specific screens (besides Home) or calls to other macros or IF..THEN..ELSE structures are possible (some other JP1 remotes have conditional branching and subroutines, but not Xsight). RM for Xsight is very basic in terms of control and is activity based like Harmony. An activity macro would consist of whatever series of commands from any devices plus mapping of each key group to specific devices. Then you can have ad hoc macros that perform any series of commands you wish. Of course you can put any function or macro from any device on any physical or soft button. You're limited to about 115 functions per device, so some things like AVRs would need to be broken up into a few devices if you want every possible function. For example, I treat each zone of my AVR as a unique device. The remote also learns and can import pronto hex, indirectly. Graphically, each command or favorite channel can have an icon from any jpg or png source. Each activity and device can also have an icon but only from a preconfigured set or icons. You only need to use Windows software once to update the firmware. After that, you can use RM exclusively on whatever platform you wish.

2. Touch has good ergonomics IMO. Key placement is good. Keys are easily identifiable by feel and easy to reach and logically organized. The touch screen is quite sensitive, so you have to be careful not to touch the wrong thing. I've never had a problem with the slider.

3. Durability with the Touch isn't that great. Of the roughly 12 I've had in the past 7 years or so, 4 have failed, 3 of which were worn out buttons, another the touch screen became scrambled and unresponsive. Since they are so cheap, I just stock up and grab a another when one dies. The later models seem to be holding up better. So they must have made some production changes near the end.

4. I charge my Touch about once a month, but of course that will vary by usage. Mine gets used only a couple of hours per day, and I have the backlight level and timeout set very low. I have replaced only a couple of batteries. They are cheap and plentiful on ebay since I think they also fit certain popular cameras.

I like the RF base since it comes with 6 tiny blasters on long, thin leads. However RF range is not spectacular, as I only get a little over 30 ft through a couple of walls.

As you can see from some recent posts here, Xsight Touch can apparently control many home automation devices via RF, but I don't know if Hue is one of them. Looks like home automation support is far broader for the European version of Xsight.

If you want home automation, IP, BT, wifi, etc., Elite is really the better option. However, its programming capabilities are more limited than Xsight and far more limited than URC. On Harmony, you program the activity macros by answering questions. It then creates macros for you which you cannot change. This works for most people, but I prefer to have more control, so I steer clear of Harmony, although I do program them for family and friends who are quite happy with them.

My understanding is that URC has far better programming capabilities than Xsight or Harmony, but like Xsight, also lacks IP, BT, wifi control found in the Elite. Harmony has the most limited programming capabilities of all. But you'll need to skim the Elite forums to get a clearer idea of exactly what they can do. I've never used one myself. I can tell you I do not like the fact that the Elite has no dedicated skip buttons. Seems like a huge oversight for such a high end remote. There are workarounds like gestures and long presses, but I prefer dedicated buttons. Yet another reason I've never gotten one myself.

Bottom line, every option comes with trade offs. Having used RM and its predecessor for nearly 20 years, I'm partial to Xsight. I also like Xsight due to its very low price (the $250 Touch is currently selling for as low as $30). Xsight lacks some advanced programming features and can only operate IR devices and some RF devices, but that's all I need it for, nothing fancy.

Xsight is so cheap, I think its worth picking up one to play with. Even if you end up ultimately going another route for your main home theater, Xsight could be used in some other room.
Philip Brandes likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1122 of 1129 Old 09-20-2016, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Philip Brandes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the quick, informative reply! Based on reading the tutorials, the RM capabilities seem fairly comparable to the very ancient URC software for the MX-850.

I'll look at picking up a Touch... eBay prices for new ones seem to start around $60-$70... (I just can't go down the path of handling someone's groaty used remote :-)

Thanks again!
- Philip

Last edited by Philip Brandes; 09-20-2016 at 02:11 PM. Reason: Sorry I missed your info about the UEL software, I have edited this post to remove the question.
Philip Brandes is offline  
post #1123 of 1129 Old 09-20-2016, 03:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,285
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 919
I hear you. But nearly all the "used" ones I've gotten have been practically mint. Good pictures usually tell the tale. My guess is most are new old stock or store returns that haven't really seen any action. In any case, I scored a Touch for $40 last week after some haggling. I even won one auction for $30 a few weeks prior because there were no other bids. But the seller backed out of that one (claimed it was "lost", then relisted it a few days later for a higher price).

When you're shopping, realize the Xsight Touch, Nevo C3 and ARRX18G are all the same remote, so include all in your search. If you want to use RF, you'll need to buy a REX-433 base at some point.

It's my long term goal to do an RM tutorial for Xsight on the wiki with lots of screen shots, but I haven't gotten around to it.

Hope to see you over at hifi-remote.com .
foxxiu likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1124 of 1129 Old 09-22-2016, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Mdavej,

How do you edit device icon in RMIR? For some reason one of my devices does not have one. I have tried clicking on the check boxes and the column to no avail. It will appear to open a field when I double click on the check box, but I cannot edit it.

Thanks in advance.

John
nohjy is offline  
post #1125 of 1129 Old 09-23-2016, 06:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,285
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2046 Post(s)
Liked: 919
mdavej is offline  
post #1126 of 1129 Old 09-23-2016, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Thank you so much! That did the trick!
nohjy is offline  
post #1127 of 1129 Old 09-26-2016, 11:08 PM
Newbie
 
DoublP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First of all, I want to thank everybody here for all the usefull information that they have shared. My problem is that the battery door of my touch remote has broken and even though I have been searching in ebay for a broken remote for spare parts nothing has come up. Do you know of any other online source that I could check?
Worst case scenario, I will buy a used remote from ebay.
DoublP is online now  
post #1128 of 1129 Old Yesterday, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoublP View Post
First of all, I want to thank everybody here for all the usefull information that they have shared. My problem is that the battery door of my touch remote has broken and even though I have been searching in ebay for a broken remote for spare parts nothing has come up. Do you know of any other online source that I could check?
Worst case scenario, I will buy a used remote from ebay.
Send me a PM with your address - I can send you one.

xnappo
xnappo is online now  
post #1129 of 1129 Old Yesterday, 11:12 PM
Newbie
 
DoublP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post
Send me a PM with your address - I can send you one.

xnappo
Thank you for the offer xnappo.
I reside in the Netherlands, so before you send it please send me a pm with your paypal account nr so that I will reimburse your postage costs (and any additional fee for your trouble).
I don't need it right away, so you can use "normal" post.
I haven't posted 15 posts yet so I cannot pm you (forum rules), but if you pm me (one of) your e-mail address I can send you my address there.
Thank you once more.
DoublP is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Acoustic Research , Harmony 1100 Remcontrol , Remotes And Controllers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off