Official Logitech Harmony 900 thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2796 Old 08-20-2009, 10:56 PM
Member
 
Truckondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for posting the pictures of the icons. Can't wait to get my hands on the 900. I hope the "Precision IR Cables" will be out at the same time. There is no info on them on the website yet.
Truckondo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 05:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckondo View Post

Thanks for posting the pictures of the icons. Can't wait to get my hands on the 900. I hope the "Precision IR Cables" will be out at the same time. There is no info on them on the website yet.

yeah, we saw them mentioned in the manual (they also had us 'proof read' the manual), and we asked about them...they got a little red in the face...

they didn't plan on telling us about them at that time...but since we knew about them at that point, they fessed up.

we don't know much details about them, but our assumption is that they'll be somewhat like the old IR blaster tip cables that allow for more 'precision' on the placement and control over identical devices. obviously they'll be different because the old ones were 3.5mm and the new blaster is 2.5mm. the precision cable may also include two splitters (we hope, since the new blaster only has 2 ports in the back while the old extender had 4)

oh, they said they planned to have them available at launch...but I doubt that will be the case since it's getting close and they haven't announced them yet.
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #183 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lol I just bought a Harmony One. I knew I'd get screwed.
mike2060 is offline  
post #184 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2060 View Post

Lol I just bought a Harmony One. I knew I'd get screwed.

nah...if you just bought it, you can always return it
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #185 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
Rooks4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the justification of getting a 900 over "The One" other than a slightly nicer display and the RF functionality (which I don't think I need in my particular setup)... ?

If I am going to spend 400$ for this remote, I think I'd just spring for the 1100 instead. I really only have a TV, AVR, and BluRay in my main room - although I have a separate game room with a different TV, Xbox, and PS3 in an upstairs loft.. maybe with the RF functionality I could be downstairs, click the "Play Games" button and it'd turn on my TV and game system upstairs before I walked up there? :P That might be useful..

(Trying to talk myself into buying one of these 3 remotes... having a hard time deciding - any opinions? the 'cool factor' with the 1100 is slowly winning on me i think.. i like the tablet design.)
Rooks4 is offline  
post #186 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooks4 View Post

What is the justification of getting a 900 over "The One" other than a slightly nicer display and the RF functionality (which I don't think I need in my particular setup)... ?

If I am going to spend 400$ for this remote, I think I'd just spring for the 1100 instead. I really only have a TV, AVR, and BluRay in my main room - although I have a separate game room with a different TV, Xbox, and PS3 in an upstairs loft.. maybe with the RF functionality I could be downstairs, click the "Play Games" button and it'd turn on my TV and game system upstairs before I walked up there? :P That might be useful..

(Trying to talk myself into buying one of these 3 remotes... having a hard time deciding - any opinions? the 'cool factor' with the 1100 is slowly winning on me i think.. i like the tablet design.)

keep in mind that no matter what remote you get, you'll need an IR adapter to control the PS3...you can thank Sony for not including an IR receiver.

the 900 comes with the main blaster (i.e. wireless extender) and two mini blasters that plug into the main blaster...

the 1100 does not come with the extender.

the One will not work with any logitech wireless extender...but would work with a 3rd party IR repeater system

another advantage of the 900 that I love is the sleep timer. it actually executes the 'off' button functionality after a certain number of minutes (you have several choices)...so the need for your devices to have a sleep timer is irrelevant, and the harmony smart state technology doesn't get confused. also, as I mentioned before, the 900 is easier to setup, as a lot of the settings, including the entire RF setup, is done on the remote itself and not on the computer....

not that any harmony remote is that hard to setup
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #187 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post

nah...if you just bought it, you can always return it

Sorry, by just bought it I mean like 2 months ago.
mike2060 is offline  
post #188 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Truckondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post

yeah, we saw them mentioned in the manual (they also had us 'proof read' the manual), and we asked about them...they got a little red in the face...

they didn't plan on telling us about them at that time...but since we knew about them at that point, they fessed up.

we don't know much details about them, but our assumption is that they'll be somewhat like the old IR blaster tip cables that allow for more 'precision' on the placement and control over identical devices. obviously they'll be different because the old ones were 3.5mm and the new blaster is 2.5mm. the precision cable may also include two splitters (we hope, since the new blaster only has 2 ports in the back while the old extender had 4)

oh, they said they planned to have them available at launch...but I doubt that will be the case since it's getting close and they haven't announced them yet.

I read on the blogitech site that the IR cables would have 4 emitters on each cable. I wish the blaster had more ports since I want to use one port straight to the PS3 adaptor. As of right now 4 emitters and cable for the PS3 would work out. I also could just point the blaster towards the PS3 adaptor to control it.
Truckondo is offline  
post #189 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckondo View Post

I read on the blogitech site that the IR cables would have 4 emitters on each cable. I wish the blaster had more ports since I want to use one port straight to the PS3 adaptor. As of right now 4 emitters and cable for the PS3 would work out. I also could just point the blaster towards the PS3 adaptor to control it.

you could always get a splitter
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #190 of 2796 Old 08-21-2009, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
datdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How would I connect this remote to my PC? Right now I have a Dinovo Mini but am looking to switch.

Are there RF recievers for the PC or would I have to use a IR Blaster? Would one be better than the other?

What software would I need to use on the PC to map out controls for programs/system controls?
datdude is offline  
post #191 of 2796 Old 08-22-2009, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by datdude View Post

How would I connect this remote to my PC? Right now I have a Dinovo Mini but am looking to switch.

Are there RF recievers for the PC or would I have to use a IR Blaster? Would one be better than the other?

What software would I need to use on the PC to map out controls for programs/system controls?

so you're not looking to connect the remote to the PC (as in connecting it by USB to update the remote), you're looking to control the PC via the remote.

there are no existing RF receivers for the harmony remotes that connect directly to the PC, so you would have to use either the main blaster or one of the mini-blasters.

as far as software, all the programming for the remote, including button mapping for the remote, would be handled via the Logitech software
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #192 of 2796 Old 08-22-2009, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if your pc already has an ir receiver for another remote you can just use that receiver.
Brandito is offline  
post #193 of 2796 Old 08-23-2009, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandito View Post

if your pc already has an ir receiver for another remote you can just use that receiver.

correct...I should clarify that I was under the assumption that the PC wasn't in the same area as the rest of the setup, meaning it needed non-line of sight control...

if it's in line of sight, then any USB based or built in IR receiver on the PC would work for allowing it to see the commands....and the remote itself, or the main/mini blasters could send it commands
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #194 of 2796 Old 08-23-2009, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Perpendicular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post

you do realize that the second comment was in reference to him passing on the 900 in favor of the 890. The difference between the screen quality of the 890 and the 900 is amazing.

the difference between the One and 900 is there, but not nearly as noticeable.

for the record, I'm 26 with 20/20 vision

I wanted to say that I'm sorry for sounding like a jackass earlier!

Overall, taking a lot of your valuable time to help out Forum members is much appreciated!

OPPO BETA GROUP
Perpendicular is offline  
post #195 of 2796 Old 08-23-2009, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perpendicular View Post

I wanted to say that I'm sorry for sounding like a jackass earlier!

Overall, taking a lot of your valuable time to help out Forum members is much appreciated!

we've all been there before...no worries
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #196 of 2796 Old 08-23-2009, 03:14 PM
Newbie
 
datdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post

correct...I should clarify that I was under the assumption that the PC wasn't in the same area as the rest of the setup, meaning it needed non-line of sight control...

if it's in line of sight, then any USB based or built in IR receiver on the PC would work for allowing it to see the commands....and the remote itself, or the main/mini blasters could send it commands

Thanks for the replies!

So if I get an IR reciever, will any do or are there one's that will work better with the harmony emitters? Do any of them (the IR reciever for the PC) not allow the PC to be turned on from sleep mode? That is one key for me.

Thanks again.
datdude is offline  
post #197 of 2796 Old 08-23-2009, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Seems like had they provided a plug in on the receiver main unit with a blue tooth repeater for the ps3 they'd sell a ton of them.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #198 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by datdude View Post

Thanks for the replies!

So if I get an IR reciever, will any do or are there one's that will work better with the harmony emitters? Do any of them (the IR reciever for the PC) not allow the PC to be turned on from sleep mode? That is one key for me.

Thanks again.

The Harmony is not the limiting factor here. You need to find an IR receiver that will do what you need. Any universal IR remote will be able to control an IR receiver, but if your IR receiver is limited in its abilities then the 900 isn't going to fix it.

I'd stay away from any iMon IR solution and look into a USB-UIRT and use EventGhost or any EventGhost compatible MCE IR receiver.

bryansj is online now  
post #199 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post

Seems like had they provided a plug in on the receiver main unit with a blue tooth repeater for the ps3 they'd sell a ton of them.

Logitech already sells this. The "plug in" is a 2.5mm port on the back of the IR Blaster and the Harmony IR to BT converter.

bryansj is online now  
post #200 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary View Post

we've all been there before...no worries

So where's this petition again? Tis high time i signed it....

Cheers
jalyst is offline  
post #201 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 05:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by datdude View Post

Thanks for the replies!

So if I get an IR reciever, will any do or are there one's that will work better with the harmony emitters? Do any of them (the IR reciever for the PC) not allow the PC to be turned on from sleep mode? That is one key for me.

Thanks again.

this might help...
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #202 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalyst View Post

So where's this petition again? Tis high time i signed it....

Cheers

it's over here
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #203 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
whodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on when the 900 will be available?
whodean is offline  
post #204 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 01:39 PM
Member
 
MJJensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so any word if we can connect multiple to one extender? IE replacement for the 890Pro
MJJensen is offline  
post #205 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
laharmony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a dumb question-

If the 900 operates on RF, how would it control the TV which is normally sitting out with a convenient line of sight to its IR receiver? Does the 900 also emit an IR signal along with the RF? Point is, I'd rather not have to have a blaster sitting out somewhere in front of the TV...
laharmony is offline  
post #206 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by laharmony View Post

Here's a dumb question-

If the 900 operates on RF, how would it control the TV which is normally sitting out with a convenient line of sight to its IR receiver? Does the 900 also emit an IR signal along with the RF? Point is, I'd rather not have to have a blaster sitting out somewhere in front of the TV...

yes i'm pretty sure it uses both ir from the remote as well as rf.

i assume you can choose to send commands as ir or rf depending on the device. someone else may need to confirm.

also it sounds like the blasters have pretty good coverage so it may not be an issue to have the blasters control the tv either.
Brandito is offline  
post #207 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
citico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The remote sends both IR and RF. The receiver(Extender) converts the RF to IR and sends the IR to the blasters to control the components. With TV being in LOS it would receive the IR and act on the command. It sort of defeats the purpose as with the RF you don't have to hit a component with the IR signal. No LOS is needed.

ED
citico is offline  
post #208 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
squareeyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: san diego, california, usa
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i have my 900 blaster sitting just below the bottom edge of the tv. very inconspicuous and the tv receives every command shot out from the thing. the main blaster and the mini blasters all have excellent range and don't have to be in front of each component. my minis are all right at the base of my components with their wires running back underneath and out of sight. one of them is just below 2 components stacked on top and it still hits them both.
this is all in an open shelf console so the ir signals aren't even bouncing off any doors.

follow icon updates, av & remote info on facebook and twitter.
http://www.iconharmony.com
squareeyes is offline  
post #209 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whodean View Post

Any word on when the 900 will be available?

it's supposed to start shipping out September 4th...so it should be in stores shortly after that
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJJensen View Post

so any word if we can connect multiple to one extender? IE replacement for the 890Pro

only one remote per blaster...but up to 5 blasters per remote
the 890pro has been discontinued and only
logitech knows if there will ever be a replacement for it

I think they made a public statement about it on the logitech forums when they announced the 890pro being discontinued, but it may not have been in th public area, so I'll refrain from commenting on future product plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by squareeyes View Post

i have my 900 blaster sitting just below the bottom edge of the tv.

same for me. but the wallmount for the new bedroom tv is arriving later this week. much smaller "rack" for the components is probably a week or so behind that in shipping. so we'll see how the blaster placement goes
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #210 of 2796 Old 08-24-2009, 08:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by squareeyes View Post

i have my 900 blaster sitting just below the bottom edge of the tv.

I must be missunderstanding what you guys are saying. Our 1000 directly (IR) controls the TV, and the RF extender handles all the components in the next room. Why do you need a blaster sitting under the bottom edge of your TV?
htwaits is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off