Official Logitech Harmony 900 thread - Page 96 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 2867 Old 06-29-2015, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
RadYOacTve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
BTW, look at the picture you posted of the Logitech site, clearly shows the Ultimate remote and says to update the hub which the 900 doesn't have.
RadYOacTve is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 2867 Old 07-24-2015, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
AlbanyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Guilderland, NY
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 900 controls everything via RF, except turning my HDTV on/off.

The HDTV power is controlled via IR from the 900.

Within the last month, the 900 will not turn the HDTV on/off, but will control all the other components correctly via RF.

However, if I put the 900 about 12" or less from the HDTV and press "watch tv", the HDTV will power on. This leads me to believe that the IR emitter is weak.

Is there a DIY procedure to replace the IR emitter or some other form of troubleshooting to determine the reason I cannot turn my HDTV on/off while sitting on my couch?

AlbanyHDTV.com webmaster
AlbanyHDTV is offline  
post #2853 of 2867 Old 07-25-2015, 03:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 129
use the mini blasters.
Gary J is offline  
post #2854 of 2867 Old 07-25-2015, 04:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
AlbanyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Guilderland, NY
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
use the mini blasters.
My HDTV is mounted on a wall with no wires hanging from it.

How would I have the mini-blaster turn the HDTV on/off without leaving exposed wires?

AlbanyHDTV.com webmaster
AlbanyHDTV is offline  
post #2855 of 2867 Old 07-25-2015, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 129
tape and imagination.
Gary J is offline  
post #2856 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
DirecTv H23-600 & Harmony 900 Problems?

I can't get my Harmony 900 to control my DirecTv H23-600 via RF to IR. I have even tried entering all the H20 IR commands manually without success.

I had it working at one point by using the Harmony equipment library code for an H20-100 but for reasons unknown to me it stopped working. Everything else in my Harmony setup is working fine.

Any assistance would be much appreciated.
Big Picture is online now  
post #2857 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post
I can't get my Harmony 900 to control my DirecTv H23-600 via RF to IR. I have even tried entering all the H20 IR commands manually without success.

I had it working at one point by using the Harmony equipment library code for an H20-100 but for reasons unknown to me it stopped working. Everything else in my Harmony setup is working fine.

Any assistance would be much appreciated.
So, you are controlling other equipment with your Harmony blaster via RF to IR just fine? I assume your Directv H23 receiver is responding to the DirecTv remote OK? Does the H23 have it's own RF remote control option that someone in your household turned ON instead of using the normal IR control?
deano86 is offline  
post #2858 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by deano86 View Post
So, you are controlling other equipment with your Harmony blaster via RF to IR just fine? I assume your Directv H23 receiver is responding to the DirecTv remote OK? Does the H23 have it's own RF remote control option that someone in your household turned ON instead of using the normal IR control?
All other equipment working fine RF to IR with Harmony 900. H23 working fine in both RF & IR mode with it's own remote, set to IR mode now.


I am using a 3rd party mini blaster to the H23 that signals visually red when it's working, seems to be working fine.


What else can I try or look into?

Last edited by Big Picture; 09-01-2015 at 02:08 PM.
Big Picture is online now  
post #2859 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post
All other equipment working fine RF to IR with Harmony 900. H23 working fine in both RF & IR mode with it's own remote, set to IR mode now.


I am using a 3rd party mini blaster with the H23 that signals visually when it's working, seems to be working fine.


What else can I try or look into?
I assume you double checked your RF device assign settings in your Harmony remote menu? Make sure the your H23 didn't get toggled to OFF. When you press commands that are just for the H23, what icon flashes at the top of your remote display? the IR wave icon or the correct RF antenna symbol? If your RF device assignment is correct, maybe try removing and re adding the blaster.....
deano86 is offline  
post #2860 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I would disconnect/take off the mini blaster from the H23 and see if the main blaster works OK. I never need the mini blaster in my equipment closet as the main blaster sprays the IR signal just fine.... and just because the indicator light works on your 3rd party mini, doesn't necessarily mean that the IR emitter is working properly in it...
deano86 is offline  
post #2861 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by deano86 View Post
I would disconnect/take off the mini blaster from the H23 and see if the main blaster works OK. I never need the mini blaster in my equipment closet as the main blaster sprays the IR signal just fine.... and just because the indicator light works on your 3rd party mini, doesn't necessarily mean that the IR emitter is working properly in it...
My H23 is in an ajoining room so I need a mini blaster there. Whats vexing is that the setup was working and now it's not. I am suspecting maybe a problem with the RF setup, is there some sort of RF master reset somewhere in the H900 system?


Thanks.
Big Picture is online now  
post #2862 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Check out this article... there is some great troubleshooting tips and at the bottom is a procedure to re-initialize the Blaster..

http://www.harmonyremoterepair.com/H...roubleshooting
deano86 is offline  
post #2863 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by deano86 View Post
Check out this article... there is some great troubleshooting tips and at the bottom is a procedure to re-initialize the Blaster..

http://www.harmonyremoterepair.com/H...roubleshooting
Thanks. I'll keep plugging away until I find the answer.
Big Picture is online now  
post #2864 of 2867 Old 09-01-2015, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone here know of any universal DirecTv set top box code(s) that might work with a variety of set top HD boxes? I recall reading somewhere that they exist but I can't locate them thus far.


Thanks.
Big Picture is online now  
post #2865 of 2867 Old 09-02-2015, 02:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Granada Hills, Ca
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post
Does anyone here know of any universal DirecTv set top box code(s) that might work with a variety of set top HD boxes? I recall reading somewhere that they exist but I can't locate them thus far.


Thanks.
The Directv IR codeset hasn't changed since 2005. What are asking for, you want an universal that has multiple addresses for directv receivers? The discontinued philips sru-5106, 5107, and 5108 has preset codes for directv addresses 00001(philips code 1278), 00003(1378), and 00004(1478).
Edmund is offline  
post #2866 of 2867 Old 09-02-2015, 08:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,770
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1416 Post(s)
Liked: 705
As Edmund said, all HR2x, HR3x, HR4x, HR5x, H2x, D1x, R1x and R2x codes are identical. Some have more or fewer commands depending on how Logitech built their database, but the individual commands all match 100%. I don't know what's causing your problem, but the codes aren't it. You must have the correct blaster assignment for you 900 and make sure IR is still enabled on the H23. Since you say IR still works from the H23 remote, next thing I'd try is to see if any IR is coming from the blaster with a digital camera. My guess is it's not. Could you have inadvertently changed the address in the H23?

If you want to mess around with alternate address anyway, you can start with this, convert to pronto hex with IRScurtinizer and email the result to datasupport@logitech.com or import using Concordance (if it supports the 900). Address zero might work on all units, but I'm not certain as I haven't had DirectTV for quite a while now. But I can tell you it won't make any difference whatsoever.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...e&file_id=4687

Last edited by mdavej; 09-02-2015 at 11:57 AM.
mdavej is offline  
post #2867 of 2867 Old 09-02-2015, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you guys for the assistance.

Can I be confident that using Logitech's H23-600 code assignment will in fact operate my H23-600 or should I pick another one such as HR20-100? Can someone tell me which Logitech DirecTv HXX-XXX codes will work for sure with my H23-600?

I am using a third party mini blaster on a 6' cable added to 12' cable to control my H23 located in a room with no other media equipment. It flashes red when it's sending.

Should I only use Logitech blasters?

I have not added any delays in the H900 programming when it turns on the various devices string, should I?

How can I be sure that my H23 has the correct address?

I have enabled the H23 blaster assignment on my H900, like I did with my other equipment, and enabled IR on my H23 and confirmed it is working fine with the DirecTv IR remote.

All of my other media equipment operated by my H900 is working ok.

None of the H23 functions are working with the H900 even after I turn it on manually.

Last edited by Big Picture; 09-02-2015 at 07:29 PM.
Big Picture is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off