Official Logitech Harmony 900 thread - Page 97 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2888 Old 03-21-2016, 09:47 AM
boe
AVS Forum Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,885
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 933 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post
You select on the remote which devices you want for IR and which for RF. RF sends to a hub unit that has IR blasters attached that you can route to your devices. The handheld remote sends IR signals to devices you haven't selected for RF.
Wait, so is it possible to remote a cable box that uses RF and not IR with the Harmony 900?
boe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2888 Old 03-21-2016, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I don't know that the remote can interface directly to the cable box. I seem to remember something about it in this thread. Perhaps if you searched this thread with the model of your cable box you can find some info.
Shrike645 is offline  
post #2883 of 2888 Old 03-21-2016, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,672
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1301 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
Wait, so is it possible to remote a cable box that uses RF and not IR with the Harmony 900?
No.

bryansj is offline  
 
post #2884 of 2888 Old 07-19-2017, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
sebdookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Harmony 900 longevity

For those who are still using this remote, does it withstand the test of time? I'm thinking of purchasing one for the RF functionality and the button layout. There are great second hand deals out there. The newer harmony remotes with RF functionality are out of my price range. Also, does it play nice with current 3rd party RF receivers?
sebdookie is offline  
post #2885 of 2888 Old 07-19-2017, 08:19 AM
Member
 
Iceknyght's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had mine for about 4-5 years now with really no issues (just had to change out the battery once due to the swelling problem) and it gets daily use. Still the best remote they've made, IMO... I have one of the newer ones too, for another TV, and while it's cool that it has the hub and iphone features, it's just not a complete experience (and definitely not as friendly for guests, especially if you have more than 3 scenes)... Not sure if it plays well with newer RF stuff but I'd assume so... I am still just using the receivers it came with... Although, I do have a newer one plugged into my Xbox that works fine...

There can be only one!
Iceknyght is offline  
post #2886 of 2888 Old 07-19-2017, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebdookie View Post
For those who are still using this remote, does it withstand the test of time? I'm thinking of purchasing one for the RF functionality and the button layout. There are great second hand deals out there. The newer harmony remotes with RF functionality are out of my price range. Also, does it play nice with current 3rd party RF receivers?


I used a 900 for maybe 6 years and could have been longer. I had to replace the battery after about 4 - 5 years. I was really pleased with the RF functionality, but all my new equipment was Bluetooth, so I bought an Elite and saved $100 by trading in the 900.

Not sure about 3rd party RF receivers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PN59D8000 and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
Front - CM9, Center - CMC2, Side Surrounds - DS3, Rear Surrounds - CM5, Front/Rear Atmos - CCM663, Subs - PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Remote/Streaming Media Players - Harmony Elite, Apple TV 4, Nvidia Shield Pro - use with HDHomeRun Connect/Extend and Plex
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #2887 of 2888 Old 07-19-2017, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,316
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2213 Post(s)
Liked: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebdookie View Post
... does it play nice with current 3rd party RF receivers?
No. Only works with the same model RF receiver that originally came with the 900. Also realize that the 900 is one of the few Harmonys that can't do "sequences" (one button macros) at all.
mdavej is online now  
post #2888 of 2888 Old 07-25-2017, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My refurbished 900 is still going strong after about 5 years. Like many of the others I had to replace the OEM battery due to swelling after about 2 years. I replaced it with a generic brand and 3 years later no issues.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off