comcast remote for onkyo receiver? what would be best? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 11-07-2009, 02:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BBYftl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a comcast 3-device dvr remote.

programmed it for the box, tv and my receiver.

it has very limited control over the tv, and can ONLY power off the receiver.

am i missing something, or can i not adjust the volume level on the receiver from the comcast remote?

if not, are there any cheap remotes that can effectively control all three devices? (i work at bestbuy and the cheapest ones we have that would work well are over $200 retail)



edit: Receiver = Onkyo 607
BBYftl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 11-07-2009, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BBYftl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
**also, i tried to unlock the volume controls the way the comcast remote manual available online tells you to... still doesn't work, unless i'm missing something.

-press a device key
-hold setup until it blinks twice
-press 9-9-3
-press VOL -

^did that, no dice.
BBYftl is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 11-07-2009, 05:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
sure, there LOADS of cheaper options... how much do you want to spend and how much effort do you want to put into it?

there are several "easy" (i.e. harmony/urc) options available for well under one franklin... if you are willing to put a bit more effort into it, there is the jp1 option, which has an enthusiastic and helpful support group...

side note: don't confuse bestbuy retail with "what you can buy something for"...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 11-07-2009, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
OK, I'll assume that you have a TX-SR607. Volume lock means that the TV volume will be adjusted when the remote is in cable mode. On the Comcast remotes that I have (red Select/OK button), contrary to the instruction sheet, volume lock does not apply to the AUX button, and it always sends its own volume code. If you want to make the AUX device control volume while you are in cable mode, press setup, two blinks, 993, two blinks, AUX, two blinks.

You can use the Comcast remote to control most of the receiver functions, provided that you are willing to spend a few minutes typing in some numbers. First you need to set the AUX mode on the Comcast to 30135. That specifies NEC1 protocol, device 210, subdevice 109. That should control receiver volume. It should also turn on the receiver, but not turn it off. Perhaps some other buttons will work. For those that don't, you can use a keymove to get the functionality you want. In total, the Comcast remote is limited to about 70 keymoves, which should be enough for the functions you need here, and for the TV, if any are needed there. Speaking of the TV, why not tell us what you have? Maybe we can help.

In Aux mode (using setup code 30135), press setup, two blinks, 994, press setup briefly, any of the below 5 digit EFCs, and then the key you want the fucntion assigned to. Should get two blinks. If you want the digit keys to work, I can post how to add those.
Code:
ON/STANDBY           27493
DISCRETE ON          60517
DISCRETE OFF         57957
CH/DISC +            60773
CH/DISC -            61797
VOL UP               61285
VOL DOWN             62309
MUTE                 61541
GUIDE/TOP MENU       30053
SETUP                41829
RETURN               40037
AUDIO                42085
ENTER                47717
UP                   63333
DOWN                 64357
LEFT                 62565
RIGHT                63589
CLR/SLEEP            08293
STEREO MODE          23653
DVD/BD               29797
VCR/DVR              29285
CBL/SAT              28261
GAME                 28773
AUX                  14949
TV/TAPE              28005
TUNER                29541
CD                   29029
REW                  12133
PLAY                 45157
FWD                  12645
PAUSE                44645
F.REW                47973
STOP                 45925
F.FWD                46181
DIMMER/+10           47205
DISPLAY              41061
Broken1477 likes this.
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #5 of 18 Old 11-07-2009, 11:35 AM
 
maxdog03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBYftl View Post

i have a comcast 3-device dvr remote.

programmed it for the box, tv and my receiver.

it has very limited control over the tv, and can ONLY power off the receiver.

am i missing something, or can i not adjust the volume level on the receiver from the comcast remote?

if not, are there any cheap remotes that can effectively control all three devices? (i work at bestbuy and the cheapest ones we have that would work well are over $200 retail)



edit: Receiver = Onkyo 607

Get a Harmony universal remote. You can pick them up on ebay for around $40.00 (the 500 series or 600 series) and sometimes on craigslist for even cheaper (I picked up 2 for $20.00 each) as they simplify everything and easy to program through the computer. All you do is hook it up to the computer with the supplied cable, download the software and then just add the model numbers of the various components you have and the computer will program all the devices into your remote. Best solution for a home theater I have seen.
maxdog03 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 01-16-2011, 12:04 AM
Member
 
srizvi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Howard County, Laurel MD 20723
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3FingeredGlove View Post

OK, I'll assume that you have a TX-SR607. Volume lock means that the TV volume will be adjusted when the remote is in cable mode. On the Comcast remotes that I have (red Select/OK button), contrary to the instruction sheet, volume lock does not apply to the AUX button, and it always sends its own volume code. If you want to make the AUX device control volume while you are in cable mode, press setup, two blinks, 993, two blinks, AUX, two blinks.

You can use the Comcast remote to control most of the receiver functions, provided that you are willing to spend a few minutes typing in some numbers. First you need to set the AUX mode on the Comcast to 30135. That specifies NEC1 protocol, device 210, subdevice 109. That should control receiver volume. It should also turn on the receiver, but not turn it off. Perhaps some other buttons will work. For those that don't, you can use a keymove to get the functionality you want. In total, the Comcast remote is limited to about 70 keymoves, which should be enough for the functions you need here, and for the TV, if any are needed there. Speaking of the TV, why not tell us what you have? Maybe we can help.

In Aux mode (using setup code 30135), press setup, two blinks, 994, press setup briefly, any of the below 5 digit EFCs, and then the key you want the fucntion assigned to. Should get two blinks. If you want the digit keys to work, I can post how to add those.
Code:
ON/STANDBY           27493
DISCRETE ON          60517
DISCRETE OFF         57957
CH/DISC +            60773
CH/DISC -            61797
VOL UP               61285
VOL DOWN             62309
MUTE                 61541
GUIDE/TOP MENU       30053
SETUP                41829
RETURN               40037
AUDIO                42085
ENTER                47717
UP                   63333
DOWN                 64357
LEFT                 62565
RIGHT                63589
CLR/SLEEP            08293
STEREO MODE          23653
DVD/BD               29797
VCR/DVR              29285
CBL/SAT              28261
GAME                 28773
AUX                  14949
TV/TAPE              28005
TUNER                29541
CD                   29029
REW                  12133
PLAY                 45157
FWD                  12645
PAUSE                44645
F.REW                47973
STOP                 45925
F.FWD                46181
DIMMER/+10           47205
DISPLAY              41061

This was a big help, thank you. Now I can control my onkyo tx-sr607's volume (I don't use the tv speakers at all) with my comcast remote
srizvi1 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 01-16-2011, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Ptc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3FingeredGlove View Post

OK, I'll assume that you have a TX-SR607. Volume lock means that the TV volume will be adjusted when the remote is in cable mode. On the Comcast remotes that I have (red Select/OK button), contrary to the instruction sheet, volume lock does not apply to the AUX button, and it always sends its own volume code. If you want to make the AUX device control volume while you are in cable mode, press setup, two blinks, 993, two blinks, AUX, two blinks.

You can use the Comcast remote to control most of the receiver functions, provided that you are willing to spend a few minutes typing in some numbers. First you need to set the AUX mode on the Comcast to 30135. That specifies NEC1 protocol, device 210, subdevice 109. That should control receiver volume. It should also turn on the receiver, but not turn it off. Perhaps some other buttons will work. For those that don't, you can use a keymove to get the functionality you want. In total, the Comcast remote is limited to about 70 keymoves, which should be enough for the functions you need here, and for the TV, if any are needed there. Speaking of the TV, why not tell us what you have? Maybe we can help.

In Aux mode (using setup code 30135), press setup, two blinks, 994, press setup briefly, any of the below 5 digit EFCs, and then the key you want the fucntion assigned to. Should get two blinks. If you want the digit keys to work, I can post how to add those.
Code:
ON/STANDBY           27493
DISCRETE ON          60517
DISCRETE OFF         57957
CH/DISC +            60773
CH/DISC -            61797
VOL UP               61285
VOL DOWN             62309
MUTE                 61541
GUIDE/TOP MENU       30053
SETUP                41829
RETURN               40037
AUDIO                42085
ENTER                47717
UP                   63333
DOWN                 64357
LEFT                 62565
RIGHT                63589
CLR/SLEEP            08293
STEREO MODE          23653
DVD/BD               29797
VCR/DVR              29285
CBL/SAT              28261
GAME                 28773
AUX                  14949
TV/TAPE              28005
TUNER                29541
CD                   29029
REW                  12133
PLAY                 45157
FWD                  12645
PAUSE                44645
F.REW                47973
STOP                 45925
F.FWD                46181
DIMMER/+10           47205
DISPLAY              41061

Do these codes work for the TX-SR600? I tried both the code for on/standby & the code for discreet off and neither turn my rcvr off. I'm using the Comcast 3 in 1 remote w/ the red ok/select button.
Ptc11 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 06-28-2011, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
rappa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't get my comcast custom DVR 3 device to program my onkyo ht r540 audio receiver. I was able to get it to power off using the 30842 code, but that's it. Then I used the suggestion to enter a code to power on and that worked as well. but the other codes listed to control volume up and down don't work. Does anyone have any ideas?
rappa99 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 06-28-2011, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Onkyo receivers use 2 different device numbers, and with Comcast remotes, you need to involve two setup codes.

Follow the instructions in post #42 to get both Power On/Off and Volume.
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #10 of 18 Old 06-30-2012, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
Kendra Floyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This was incredibly useful, but the code for the DVD/BD doesn't seem to work. Any other codes for that function?
Kendra Floyd is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 07-01-2012, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Well, this is embarrassing. All of those above EFCs are wrong, and won't work with a Comcast. Here are two sets of codes the first should be used with setup code 30135, and the second set with setup code 30842.
Code:
30135 (NEC1 210.109) 
DISCRETE ON     00180
CH/DISC +       00181
CH/DISC -       00185
VOL UP  00183
VOL DOWN        00187
MUTE    00184
ENTER   00130
UP      00191
DOWN    00195
LEFT    00188
RIGHT   00192
CLR/SLEEP       00232
VCR/DVR 00058
CBL/SAT 00054
GAME    00056
AUX     00002
TV/TAPE 00053
TUNER   00059
CD      00057
REW     00247
PLAY    00120
FWD     00249
PAUSE   00118
F.REW   00131
STOP    00123
Code:
30842 (NEC1 210.108) 
DISCRETE OFF    00170
GUIDE/TOP MENU  00061
SETUP   00107
RETURN  00100
AUDIO   00108
STEREO MODE     00036
DVD/BD  00060
DISPLAY 00104
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #12 of 18 Old 11-03-2012, 09:20 PM
Newbie
 
Murray Gorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the new dark gray comcast remote and Onkyo TX-SR707. I did the following to get it working:

Tap Aux
Hold Setup (2 blinks)
30842 (2 blinks)

Tap Aux
Hold Setup (2 blinks)
994
Tap Setup
00051
Tap Power (This will allow the power button to turn the Onkyo on and off)

Tap Aux
Hold Setup (2 blinks)
994
Tap Setup
00060
Tap (whatever button you wish to use for DVD/BD) I used HD Zoom

Tap Aux
Hold Setup (2 Blinks)
30135 (2 Blinks)


Tap Aux
Hold Setup (2 Blinks)
994
Tap Setup
28261
Tap (whatever button you wish to use for CBL/SAT) I used TV/VCR

I believe that the buttons I programmed under 30842 continued to remain programmed under 30135 because those buttons are not used under the 30135 programming. You may want to test it out. I believe this will also work with the latest silver remote.
Murray Gorson is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 02-10-2013, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
vivame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the comcast grey remote with the grey ok/select button in the middle.
It controls 3 devices.
I need it to control the Onkyo volume.
After reading that the above codes are wrong, and your new codes...
I attempted to follow the instructions and realize that 5 digit codes do not work on this remote apparently.

I tap AUX,
hold setup until AUX blinks 2 times.
I type
3 (one AUX blink)
0 (one AUX blink)
8 (one AUX blink)
4 (one LONG AUX blink)
2 (one AUX blink)

then what?
No double blink

Pressing the volume button does not make the AUX button blink ever.
vivame is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 02-10-2013, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Follow the instructions given in post #42 . It shows the difference between red and gray button remotes.
3FingeredGlove is online now  
post #15 of 18 Old 07-30-2013, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
Broken1477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two hours searching with the same problem and this works great. Thank you!
Broken1477 is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 02-27-2014, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
John Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the EFC codes.  I was able to assign numbers 1 & 2 on my Comcast remote to the cable & aux/Roku inputs on my TX=NR626.  This receiver also has a net input, which I'd like to assign to number 3 on the remote, but no code is listed, perhaps because it's a new model.  If you do have a net code, I would appreciate it.  

John Blades is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 05-03-2014, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
hommy81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This post was very helpful!  Thanks.  I'm curious if you know a code for "phono" on an Onkyo SV414Pro.  I'm got my comcast remote set up using all of the other pertinent codes you mention in your post, but cannot find a thing anywhere on phono.  Let me know.

hommy81 is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 05-03-2014, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by hommy81 View Post

This post was very helpful!  Thanks.  I'm curious if you know a code for "phono" on an Onkyo SV414Pro.  I'm got my comcast remote set up using all of the other pertinent codes you mention in your post, but cannot find a thing anywhere on phono.  Let me know.
Try 00055 with Setup code 30135
mdavej is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr607 Receiver
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off