Z-Wave 3-Way Switch Not Working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-01-2010, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmstxatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help out with this problem? I have the Monster AVL300 remote and have a 3-way (actually 4-way) set of light switches in a room. I purchased an Intermatic 3-way Z-Wave dimmer switch on Amazon and was told that I could simply swap out one of my existing 3-way switches for the dimmer.

After I do that, the dimmer works. I can increase and dim the lights. The problem is that the lights can ONLY be turned on from the new Intermatic dimmer, not from any of my other switches. So basically all of my other switches do nothing but turn lights off (i.e., rather than being able to turn them on).

Any suggestions?
jmstxatty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-01-2010, 08:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Not sure about Z-wave, but similar switches usually come with auxiliary switches designed to work with the primary in some kind of set or kit. Without those, I don't think it will work. If that's not the case, then make sure your hot and travelers aren't mixed up.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-01-2010, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
z-wave dimmers do not use normal traveler wires. they have 1 wire that is a communication wire between accesory switches and the main.

all switches need line power and only the 1 main needs load
all switches need a ground as well
depending on your switch you also may need a neutral to each switch as well.

you cannot just swap switches with 3 way and 4 way dimmers

if it is a single dimmer it is just an easy swap.

you need to remove power from one traveler wire and use it as a communication wire between the main and accessory switch.

Then you need to make 1 traveler wire a constant line power wire for the accessory switch (not connected to the main switch at all)

then you need to make sure the load, ground and neutral are all in the box with the main switch.

it is honestly not that complicated but it depends on how your home was wired (line control 4 way or load control 4 way)

my honest advice: buy the accessory dimmer switches and hire an electrician to do it
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-02-2010, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,446
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
As I said in your pre-purchase thread http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1227516 , you'll need to rewire both switches.

Carefully read the instructions and try to understand Adidas' post. In my case I was able to use the existing 3-way switch as the accessory switch so there isn't anything you will need to buy. However, I'm not sure about a 4-way connection.

bryansj is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-03-2010, 08:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MacroMotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With Z-Wave, it's a mixed bag. For 3-way use, most dimmers require a specialized companion switch; the exception would be the Intermatic (or Wayne Dalton) HA14 and the Intermatic HA20. These are designed to be used with standard 3-way switches with traveler wires. Note: The older Intermatic HA06 dimmer is not designed for this type of 3-way use.

One alternative to consider: If your 3-way locations are powered with hot and neutral wires, you can install a Z-Wave controller at those locations and simply associate that with the load carrying switch. A relatively low cost option for this would be the ACT ZTW103.

HomeSeer Technologies
www.homeseer.com
MacroMotion is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off