Official Logitech Harmony 650/600 remote thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1459 Old 07-27-2015, 09:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,698
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1371 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post
Don't have that DVR, but no reason for that button to be different than any other.


Try a custom button train (right from real remote) and put it on a lcd-screen button for Activity.
The voice recognition is done by the Xfinity remote. The button operates the remote itself and doesn't send any sort of signal to the DVR, similar to how a backlight button would work. It's impossible to replicate with a universal remote.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1459 Old 07-27-2015, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
The voice recognition is done by the Xfinity remote. The button operates the remote itself and doesn't send any sort of signal to the DVR, similar to how a backlight button would work. It's impossible to replicate with a universal remote.

Sorry, I didn't even consider this.


You are right.


Suggestion to the OP ... setup 650 custom and use. When you want to use XFinity-VR feature, looks like you will have to pick-up XFinity remote and talk into it.

Living Room Home-Theater:
Epson 8350 1080p Projector (96") / Panasonic TH-46pz850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 7.2 HDMI Audio/Video Amplifier/Receiver (630 watts)
Panasonic DMP-BD60 Blu-Ray Disc Player / Cisco 8742hdc DVR (TimeWarner)
Harmony 670 - Universal Remote / HTPC (XMBC/Win7-64) Media Server PC
Polk Audio Monitor Series II Speakers (Large 6.1 Matched Separates) / PSW505 12-Inch Sub
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #1443 of 1459 Old 07-29-2015, 03:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
FYI...
Meritline
has refurbished 650s today for $41.99 with coupon code MLCX29YN.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6

Last edited by jcalabria; 07-29-2015 at 03:56 AM.
jcalabria is offline  
post #1444 of 1459 Old 07-31-2015, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
FYI...
Meritline
has refurbished 650s today for $41.99 with coupon code MLCX29YN.
...and today the 700 is $53.49.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #1445 of 1459 Old 08-06-2015, 03:52 PM
Member
 
GTVic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've have a Denon receiver setup with a 650 and set the repeat rate from the default all the way down to zero but it is still way too fast when changing volume. Is there any solution to that? Or maybe the Denon could be setup to increment in steps of 2 instead of 0.5 for a greater volume change when single clicking? Also wondering if the receiver can be prevented from re-selecting the same HDMI input if it is already on the correct input? I think my Denon is a 2310CI. Thanks.
M.T.Nest likes this.
GTVic is offline  
post #1446 of 1459 Old 08-08-2015, 08:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: concord nc
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Not all buttons of the buttons intended to operate the LG oled EG9600 work correctly on the harmony 650. Since the 650 cant learn from the factory remote. Is there a way I can contact Logitech and ask to have the buttons reevaluated? For instance the "return" button and the red yellow blue and green buttons don't work. If anyone has the LG Oled EG9600 and uses a universal and all functions of the original remote work on a universal remote, let me know what aftermarket remote your using.
2020matters is offline  
post #1447 of 1459 Old 08-09-2015, 07:56 PM
Member
 
GTVic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2020matters View Post
Not all buttons of the buttons intended to operate the LG oled EG9600 work correctly on the harmony 650. Since the 650 cant learn from the factory remote. Is there a way I can contact Logitech and ask to have the buttons reevaluated? For instance the "return" button and the red yellow blue and green buttons don't work. If anyone has the LG Oled EG9600 and uses a universal and all functions of the original remote work on a universal remote, let me know what aftermarket remote your using.
The 650 can learn any IR command but not bluetooth. See here: http://forums.webosnation.com/lg-web...ote-lg-tv.html
GTVic is offline  
post #1448 of 1459 Old 08-12-2015, 10:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any way to hack the 650 so the LCD lights only when you hit a LCD button? Got it set to a 10 sec timeout... but it just sucks the screen eats battery on regularly-pressed buttons like channel/volume.
broman973 is offline  
post #1449 of 1459 Old 08-13-2015, 02:54 PM
Member
 
GTVic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by broman973 View Post
Any way to hack the 650 so the LCD lights only when you hit a LCD button? Got it set to a 10 sec timeout... but it just sucks the screen eats battery on regularly-pressed buttons like channel/volume.
My question also, I think the batteries that came with mine lasted 10 days or less. I've ordered some rechargeables in the meantime. Panasonic Enerloop 2100 cycle plus a LaCrosse BC-700 charger. Total cost just $10 less than the remote.
GTVic is offline  
post #1450 of 1459 Old 08-15-2015, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 326
650 refurbish going for 37.99 with code MLCT14MN over at Meritline, just bought one as back up.


Djoel

My sacd collection Speaker: Ascend Tower RAAL, Horizon RAAL center, Tower NrT rears SSP: XMC-1 Amplification: XPA-5 G2 Display: Samsung PN64D7000 Source: Oppo 105D, HTPC 16TB Jriver 20, Tivo Premier, Apple TV2g ,Roku 2 Power:Panamax M5300-PM
Djoel is online now  
post #1451 of 1459 Old Yesterday, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Harmony 650 on sale, I think these are new. I purchased one for back up.

Djoel

My sacd collection Speaker: Ascend Tower RAAL, Horizon RAAL center, Tower NrT rears SSP: XMC-1 Amplification: XPA-5 G2 Display: Samsung PN64D7000 Source: Oppo 105D, HTPC 16TB Jriver 20, Tivo Premier, Apple TV2g ,Roku 2 Power:Panamax M5300-PM
Djoel is online now  
post #1452 of 1459 Old Yesterday, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post
Harmony 650 on sale, I think these are new. I purchased one for back up.

Djoel
The "What's in the Box" tab indicates "manufacturer refurbished". However, if they are Logitech refurbs, they will likely be as good as new and the pricing is equivalent to Meritline's typical sale price, so probably a good deal for those that need one.

Thanks!

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #1453 of 1459 Old Yesterday, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 326
I guess I'll stick to my buy, wish I would have seen that on the what's in the box tab! Either way I can use a back up, with toddler around.

DJoel

My sacd collection Speaker: Ascend Tower RAAL, Horizon RAAL center, Tower NrT rears SSP: XMC-1 Amplification: XPA-5 G2 Display: Samsung PN64D7000 Source: Oppo 105D, HTPC 16TB Jriver 20, Tivo Premier, Apple TV2g ,Roku 2 Power:Panamax M5300-PM
Djoel is online now  
post #1454 of 1459 Old Today, 02:12 AM
Member
 
Charles Tintera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Saw 650s in Sam's Warehouse yesterday for $59.95 each. No idea if new or refurbished.
Charles Tintera is offline  
post #1455 of 1459 Old Today, 07:59 AM
Member
 
LarryF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Tintera View Post
Saw 650s in Sam's Warehouse yesterday for $59.95 each. No idea if new or refurbished.
I got my (new) 650 at Sam's Club for that price last November, and that has been the price every time since then that I have seen them in that store.

Larry
LarryF is online now  
post #1456 of 1459 Old Today, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Tintera View Post
Saw 650s in Sam's Warehouse yesterday for $59.95 each. No idea if new or refurbished.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryF View Post
I got my (new) 650 at Sam's Club for that price last November, and that has been the price every time since then that I have seen them in that store.

Larry
That seems about right for new these days. Several months ago, Best Buy had new 650s on sale for $51... which is the lowest I think I've ever seen new units go for.

Warranty (which I've never had to use for any of the dozen or so Harmony remotes I have) and packaging aside, the new 650 from Best Buy was essentially indistinguishable from the factory refurbs I've bought from Meritline for $39.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #1457 of 1459 Old Today, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
That seems about right for new these days. Several months ago, Best Buy had new 650s on sale for $51... which is the lowest I think I've ever seen new units go for.

Warranty (which I've never had to use for any of the dozen or so Harmony remotes I have) and packaging aside, the new 650 from Best Buy was essentially indistinguishable from the factory refurbs I've bought from Meritline for $39.
Hey don't these remotes come in one of those indestructible clear packages that you gotta use scissors with ?

Does the refurbish come in the same type of package?

Thanks

My sacd collection Speaker: Ascend Tower RAAL, Horizon RAAL center, Tower NrT rears SSP: XMC-1 Amplification: XPA-5 G2 Display: Samsung PN64D7000 Source: Oppo 105D, HTPC 16TB Jriver 20, Tivo Premier, Apple TV2g ,Roku 2 Power:Panamax M5300-PM
Djoel is online now  
post #1458 of 1459 Old Today, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post
Hey don't these remotes come in one of those indestructible clear packages that you gotta use scissors with ?

Does the refurbish come in the same type of package?

Thanks
The Logitech factory refurbs I've received have come in white boxes with the remote in a bubble wrap pouch, batteries, a new Logitech-branded USB cable and instruction sheet.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #1459 of 1459 Old Today, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
The Logitech factory refurbs I've received have come in white boxes with the remote in a bubble wrap pouch, batteries, a new Logitech-branded USB cable and instruction sheet.

Thanks, I'll report back if anything is different from what you mentioned.

Cheers

Djoel

My sacd collection Speaker: Ascend Tower RAAL, Horizon RAAL center, Tower NrT rears SSP: XMC-1 Amplification: XPA-5 G2 Display: Samsung PN64D7000 Source: Oppo 105D, HTPC 16TB Jriver 20, Tivo Premier, Apple TV2g ,Roku 2 Power:Panamax M5300-PM
Djoel is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off