Program Dynex TV input selection to Comcast remote? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 04-30-2010, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

Total noobie here, so I apologize if I may have missed something simple. Either which way, help would be very much appreciated!

I own a Dynex 42" Plasma TV (model DX-PDP42-09) which I'm attempting to map a couple of features to this Comcast remote:

What I'm trying to accomplish is when I press the TV button on the Comcast remote:

- TV/Cable input mapped to "Picture in Picture" On-Off button
- YPbPr1 input mapped to "Picture in Picture" Swap button
- HDMI-1 input mapped to "Picture in Picture" Move button
- Sleep timer mapped to "Picture in Picture" + button

Basically I'm trying to prevent from having to use my original OEM remote to switch inputs and put a sleep timer on, effectively keeping it all to one remote.

If it helps, I used Emerson code 10463 to setup my TV with the Comcast remote.

Thanks in advance for any assistance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-01-2010, 08:27 AM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Since 10463 is the setup code, I'm guessing the image of the remote is close but not exactly your remote-- I suppose that your remote has a red OK/Select button instead of grey.

Anyway, the following condtions need to be met.
1) The Dynex must be capable of responding to an IR signal which commands the functions you are interested in, or respond to a sequence of commands that will do the function. For example, it should respond to an IR signal which tells it to change to HDMI1 or perhaps to the sequence .
2) You'll need to know or find out the corresponding function codes.
3) The functions codes (EFCs) will need to be assigned to the PIP buttons.

Do you switch inputs with a single button press on the original remote, or with a series of button presses?