RF to IR converter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-11-2010, 12:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Is there anyway to convert RF to IR on a remote?
RapalloAV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-11-2010, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
petern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Practically speaking, no.
petern is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-13-2010, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Indian River, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What specifically are you trying to accomplish?

Jonathan
jrwhite is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-13-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SaltiDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by petern View Post

Practically speaking, no.

SaltiDawg is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-13-2010, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,637
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 322
It would be nice to know exactly what the OP means. I assume it's common knowledge that RF universal remotes convert RF to IR all day long. So I have to guess that the OP meant he has some OEM RF only remote and wants to convert it's output to IR. I have no idea why anyone would need or even want to do that, but if they did, it would be very complicated to build a transceiver to demodulate, re-encode and modulate back to the standard 38kHz IR frequency. I imagine the best way would be to tweak an existing universal remote's RF/IR transceiver.
mdavej is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-14-2010, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 172
He probably actually needs an IR to RF converter so he can use his universal remote to control some OEM RF device.

bryansj is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-07-2010, 01:58 PM
Member
 
jkagsl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: KS
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a monoprice motorized projector that has an RF remote.
Can I use a Universal to control it?
Something like a harmony 890 or an RF20 by URC.
I'm leaning toward the RF20 (price) but don't know if it can send the right frequency to control the screen....thinking that maybe the remote can only RF to the RF to IR transmitter/blaster.....does anyone know?
I realize it can learn various IR "codes" but can it learn different RF frequencies?
jkagsl is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-07-2010, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkagsl View Post

I have a monoprice motorized projector that has an RF remote.
Can I use a Universal to control it?
Something like a harmony 890 or an RF20 by URC.
I'm leaning toward the RF20 (price) but don't know if it can send the right frequency to control the screen....thinking that maybe the remote can only RF to the RF to IR transmitter/blaster.....does anyone know?
I realize it can learn various IR "codes" but can it learn different RF frequencies?

No. RF universal remotes only use RF to communicate with their specific RF to IR base station and some remotes can control certain brands of RF lighting (such as z-wave).

If you have something that is controlled only with an RF remote (your motorized projector) then you will not be able to use any other remote to control it. If there is an IR input option then you should utilize that instead.

bryansj is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 09-23-2012, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I know this is two years old so maybe there is a way to do it now? I have same situation, want to control my rf projector screen from harmony Remote
robl45 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 09-24-2012, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Indian River, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
No, nothing has changed. You might find these threads helpful ..

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1339406/convert-ir-to-rf-not-the-way-you-think

http://www.avforums.com/forums/home-automation-lighting-security-climate-control/431349-ir-control-rf-controlled-motorised-screen.html

hope this helps,

Jonathan
jrwhite is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 09-26-2012, 11:10 PM
Member
 
Guspaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an official solution for Harmony remotes for at least one RF device; the Harmony PS3 adapter. It has an IR receiver and an RF transmitter. Tranceiver actually. It basically simulates a bluetooth remote to the PS3, and listens to the Harmony via an IR receiver. You pair it wirelessly to your PS3, and then in the Harmony software, you add a PS3 as a device, and ignore all the warnings about "your remote can't talk to this device", and it works perfectly.

The misleading warnings seem to be because the Harmony software predates the PS3 adapter product, or at least they never bothered to update it about that. I mean, come on, the Harmony software calls all optical discs "DVD / Laserdisc". That includes bluray, which is nowhere to be found in the software.
Guspaz is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-27-2012, 04:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guspaz View Post

There is an official solution for Harmony remotes for at least one RF device; the Harmony PS3 adapter. It has an IR receiver and an RF transmitter. Tranceiver actually. It basically simulates a bluetooth remote to the PS3, and listens to the Harmony via an IR receiver. You pair it wirelessly to your PS3, and then in the Harmony software, you add a PS3 as a device, and ignore all the warnings about "your remote can't talk to this device", and it works perfectly.
The misleading warnings seem to be because the Harmony software predates the PS3 adapter product, or at least they never bothered to update it about that. I mean, come on, the Harmony software calls all optical discs "DVD / Laserdisc". That includes bluray, which is nowhere to be found in the software.

but this won't actually help control an RF screen right?
robl45 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 10-09-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
 
nexsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is old but I may need to convert the new TIVO Roamio RF remotes to I since I use a Xantech wired IR control system to get signals to an equipment closet. I'm afraid the closet is too far for the RF to make it through brick walls, etc. But I have IR receivers in adjacent rooms. If I use the common IR to RF converters and just use the equipment end (RF to IR) in the rooms the problem would be RF going to more than one RF to IR blaster and jamming the IR bandwidth (easy to do). What I need is a device to receive the Tivo IR signals from an old Tivo peanut and convert them to RF for the Roamio. If I can't resolve this I can't use the 6 tuner Roamio.
nexsen is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 10-09-2013, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Tivo Roamio can receive both IR and RF, not just RF. And the roamio remote can be switched to IR as well.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=507967
Edmund is online now  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Logitech Harmony 890 Advanced Universal Remote Control , Urc Mastercontrol Rf20 Universal Learning Remote W Rf Capability

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off