Newbie looking for some advice on IR Extenders - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-19-2010, 12:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gmoniey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping to add some IR extenders to fix some issues in my home, but I'm pretty lost on what I need, so I was hoping some of the gurus on here could help me out.

As for my setup, I have a few boxes (HK AVR 3600, Sony Blue Ray & Scientific Atlanta HD Receiver) inside an entertainment center. Unfortunately, the way the entertainment center is positioned, you there is no line of sight from certain areas on the couch. To make matter worse, the boxes are on different ends of the entertainment center.

In addition, I have my AVR 3600 powering a second zone (outdoor patio), and would like to extend the signal to their as well.

I know the AVR 3600 has an IR input, but the HK built IR extender is $80, and doesn't handle sending signals to my other boxes.

I don't mind buying multiple IR Extender setups for different boxes/areas, but I would like to keep my budget somewhat reasonable.

Thanks in advance!
gmoniey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-19-2010, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Just need one,
http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CDsQ8gIwAw#
This should cover all your devices.
oman321 is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-19-2010, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,618
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 321

How exactly would this work from 2 separate locations?
mdavej is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-19-2010, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 35
My mistake I missed the part about the 2nd zone control. The above should have enough slack for either side of the entertainment center, however it will limit the necessary control for the other zone.

2 options add a wireless IR extender ie. the X10 Powermids available on Ebay. I have a pair which I use for my deck/patio zone 2. I simply bring the receiver outdoors and plug it to an outdoor outlet. The transmitter I position in front of my receiver and voila! Outdoor IR control.

If you want a more permanent solution and don't mind running some cat5 to both locations then you can look into a more permanent solution such as an IR extender kit which will allow you to daisy chain 2 IR receivers and have the connecting block and emitters at the equipment.

Xantech Kit,
http://cgi.ebay.com/XANTECH-48095BKI...item415145ddd0

Extra IR receiver.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Xantech-49095-PL...item4aa2f90465

If that's not enough emitters for all equipment, you can buy dual head emitters as well.
oman321 is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-19-2010, 08:00 AM
Member
 
hardax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I LOVE my Hot Link Pro. If you can run some Cat 5 cable they have a kit for long runs and a splitter so you can control 2 zones. Check out their website:

http://www.hot-link.com
hardax is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-19-2010, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gmoniey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the responses. The Hot Link looks nice, but from what I understand, it doesn't support the second receiver, so i guess I can go with the Xantech set.

I don't mind running cable, as I can do it through the attic or the sub floor.

Also, is there a noticeable lag with the IR extenders? I remember being at a friends house in 2004, and he just got a Tivo, and it would relay the IR signal to the cable box, but the lag was so frustrating he ended up returning the tivo.
gmoniey is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-20-2010, 12:11 PM
Member
 
hardax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No lag at all with the Hot Link. As a matter of fact my button presses seem faster. I am pretty sure they have a kit to do exactly what you want. Isn't this it?:

http://www.hot-link.com/pages/access...tid=2&mrchid=3
hardax is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-20-2010, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gmoniey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe your right.

Thanks!
gmoniey is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-24-2010, 03:05 AM
Member
 
syner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
you could use the IR unit we support in our iphone/itouch/ipad and soon android IR apps
http://totalcontrolapp.com/index.php...=108&Itemid=92

you would have to run IR to the 2nd zone. you can cheaply do this by splitting an IR and extending it with cat5 cable. our customers do this for using 1 unit around a home for IR.

Robert Conlin
syner is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off